Skip to main content

Library Information: Faculty Information

Information about the John E. Robbins Library

BU Library QuickLinks

Faculty Information

Faculty Information

Library Services

Library Instruction

The library provides tours of the library and bibliographic instruction sessions. These can be arranged throughout the year, and sessions can be devoted to effective search strategies for the online catalog, any number of databases, or the World Wide Web. The evaluation of sources for academic merit is also discussed.

If you have a class, and would like them to acquire the information literacy skills needed to do research, contact H. Rainer Schira (Phone: 727-7463, E-Mail: Schirar@BrandonU.CA)

Professors are encouraged to contact the library if they (1) have any questions, (2) would like to incorporate an information literacy component into their curriculum, or (3) would like to arrange a bibliographic instruction course for their class.

Reference Desk

Both students and faculty can take advantage of Reference Desk assistance if they need help with their research, or any electronic product. The desk is open from 11:00 AM to 2:00 PM on weekdays in the Fall and Winter sessions. During the summer, assistance can be found at the circulation desk, or by appointment.

Off campus access to library databases is available by following the instructions on our off campus access page.

Help Desk

Students and faculty having problems with computers, software or computer accounts, can also take advantage of Help Desk assistance. It is offered in the library from 8:30 AM to 4:30 PM Monday-Friday. Additional assistance can regularly be attained by calling the Help Desk number (ext 500).

Off-Campus Services

The library provides regular off-campus library services for students enrolled in off-campus or Campus Manitoba courses. More information about the service can be attained by visiting our Off-Campus Library Services home page.

Borrower Information

Borrower's Cards

New Faculty to the university will need to acquire a Borrowers Card if they wish to take out materials. These cards are issued at the Circulation Desk of the Library and they can be kept there on file if you so wish.

Loan Periods

Full-Time faculty presently are given a 100 day loan period. Sessional instructors and research assistants are given an one month loan. Renewals may be provided if no one else has requested or placed a hold on a book. The maximum number of renewals is two, and a book which is either renewed, or on 100 day loan, may be recalled if another patron requests it.

COPPUL Cards

Graduate Students and Faculty can apply for a COPPUL Borrowers Card. This card will allow you to sign out books, or request Inter-Library Loans, when you are visiting another university in Canada. Undergraduates are also now eligible to get a card for the purposes of borrowing books when they are in most other Canadian university libraries. To apply for a COPPUL Borrowers Card, simply contact:

Chris Hurst, Systems Librarian

Phone: 727-9688
E-Mail: Hurst@BrandonU.CA

H. Rainer Schira, Reference and Electronic Services Librarian

Phone: 727-7463
E-Mail: Schirar@BrandonU.CA

Photocopy in the Library

Faculty wishing to photocopy items in the library can do so and charge the copying to their department. Just go to the Circulation Desk and we will make necessary arrangements.

Course Materials

Reserves

The library will place any material which you deem to be in high demand on reserve. If you wish to place material on reserve, it is a good idea to do so at least one week before classes begin as some material may need to be recalled, and all materials take time to process.

To place material on reserve you can either fill in a paper form and return it to the main or the music circulation desk, or you can fill in the online form for the main library or the music library.

Materials on reserve have varying loan periods. They can be located either by searching our online Reserve List, or by searching a hardcover Reserve List at our Circulation and Information Desks.

Reading Lists

Before listing any book or journal article on a reading list, please ensure that the book or journal is in our collection, or that you have ensured it will be in our collection. If you have ordered a book, check the item to confirm its arrival. If you want to place a personal item on reserve, you can do so by contacting Donna Lowe (727-9646) at least one week in advance of class. Doing so will result in less confusion during busy course periods.

Checking Books on Order

If you would like to check on a book you placed on order, simply do an author or title check on the library catalog. The catalog will provide a Call Number and Location if it has arrived and been cataloged. If a book is taking a long time in arriving you might want to consult with Angela Revet (727-9654) in Library Acquisitions.