Skip to main content

Masters Theses and Doctoral Dissertations: Home

What are Theses?

Theses are defined as "a dissertation embodying results of original research and especially substantiating a specific view; especially :  one written by a candidate for an academic degree." (Webster's Dictionary)

More specifically, one refers to a Masters student's written original research as a Master's Thesis - while the original research written by a Ph.D. candidate is refered to as a Doctoral Dissertation.

In the past each Master's Thesis or Doctoral Dissertation were housed in the institution which granted the degree.

More recently, these Theses can be found in full-text,

 

Library and Brandon Theses

The John E. Robbins Library aspires to acquire any and all graduate theses issued by our institution. 

Older theses can be submitted in Paper if that is the only format available.

New theses should be submitted as a PDF or other Word Processor document.

Brandon University Theses and Dissertations

Master's Thesis completed by Master's Students at Brandon University can be found in the John E. Robbins Library.

In order to locate one, search the library catalog by entering the words: Thesis Brandon University.

If you know the Author or Title of the Thesis, you can also use it as a search.

Doctoral Dissertations are also listed in the catalog if they are acquired as part of the library collection.

Accesssing Full-Text Theses and Dissertations

Canadian and International Theses / Dissertations are increasingly available from commercial and open access systems.  Most notable are:

Proquest Theses and Dissertation International Database (only available to Brandon University users.)

Theses Canada  Lists Canadian Masters and Doctoral Theses / Dissertations and links to OA content if available.

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD), Tool for locating Open Access electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs).

Open Access Theses and Dissertations  Resource for finding OA graduate Theses and Dissertations published globally.  Information comes from over 1000 colleges, universities, and research institutions. Currently indexes 2,409,322 theses and dissertations.

DART Europe  Partnership of research libraries and library consortia working to improve global access to European research theses.

Open DOAR (Directory of Open Access Repository Search Engine which relies on Google's Indexes to searches Institutional Repositories.)

    

Ordering Theses and Dissertations via Inter-Library Loans

Older theses and dissertations are often more difficult to obtain as few are digitized and these need to be ordered by the library.

To do so submit an Inter-Library Loan request to the library and we will seek to obtain it in the most cost-effective manner possible. 

Inexpensive documents are free, but those costing more will be assessed on an individual basis and we will contact you to determine if you are willing to pay for a theses or dissertation that is more costly.