LibGuides: Education Resources: Find Journal Articles

Finding Journal Articles

Search the databases below for scholarly (academic or peer-reviewed) or news sources.

If you're not on campus, you'll be asked to log in before connecting to the database.

Education Databases

ERIC (EbscoHOST)
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. - Coverage: 1966 -
ERIC
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. - Coverage: 1966 -
JSTOR Journals Collection
Includes more than 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published.

Click on Advanced Search, scoll down and select Education before searching

General Databases

Academic Search Premier (EbscoHOST)
Provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Google Scholar
Tries to provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.
Web of Science
A true citation index: Your single destination to the world’s largest collection of research data, books, journals, proceedings, publications and patents. Covers all subject areas.

Topic Databases that Include Some Education Information

IPortal
The Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) connects faculty, students, researchers and members of the community with electronic resources: books, articles, theses, documents, photographs, archival resources, maps, etc. - Full text: sometimes
PsycINFO (EbscoHOST)
The PsycINFO®, database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. - Coverage: 1900 -
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 153,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group.
LGBTQ+ Source (EbscoHOST)
Contains the full text for more than 120 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as more than 150 full-text monographs and books.

Some databases link directly to full-text articles. Look for the 'PDF' icon or a 'Linked Full Text' button. If you don't see either of these, try the 'Link to It' button. If you are still not getting to the full text, copy the title of the article and enter it in double quotes "" in Google Scholar - this may find the article in an institutional repository or at an author website. Try this if the ERIC database tells you an article is unavailable.

If you've tried the steps above, and can't get to the full article, you can order it through Inter-Library Loan. It's free, but usually takes a few days for articles to get to you.

If you're writing a paper or giving a formal presentation, don't forget to cite your sources! For education assignments, APA is one of the most frequently-requested formats.

Accessing Databases & ebooks from Home

If you are a student or faculty member at Brandon University, you can access resources from off campus. Click what you need, and you'll see a white screen asking you to log in. Once you log in, it should link to the resource you clicked.

To log in, you will need your Brandon University username and password - the same username and password you use to log into the Brandon University network when you're on campus. If you have not claimed your username and password or you are having trouble logging in with those, you should contact the BU Help Desk helpdesk@brandonu.ca or Phone 571-8500 Monday -Friday 8:30 AM to 4:30 PM. You can also claim your id online.