BU Library QuickLinks
Dictionary of National Biography Daily
Biography
Looking for life stories? There's no shortage of biographical reference sites you can access from here:
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
The people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond. - Contemporary Authors
Provides complete biographical and bibliographical information and references on more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors. - Biographical Dictionary of 20th Century Philosophers
Provides detailed accounts of the lives, works, influence and reception of thinkers from all the major philosophical schools and traditions of the twentieth-century. - Biographical Dictionary of Artists (Andromeda)
Made up of alphabetically arranged entries for painters, architects, and sculptors from pre-Christian times to the present. - Biographical dictionary of British prime ministers

- Biographical Dictionary of Psychology
Provides biographical and bibliographical information on psychologists (from Norman Abeles to Thomas d'Zurilla) from all over the world from 1850 to the present day. - Cambridge Dictionary of Scientists
Covers over 1,500 key scientists from 40 countries in field that include physics, chemistry, biology, geology, astronomy, mathematics, medicine, meteorology and technology. - Chambers Biographical Dictionary
International and historical coverage of all areas of human achievement including the arts, science, technology, sport, politics, philosophy and business. - Dictionary of Canadian Biography Online
Presents Canadians who died between the years 1000 and 1930 or whose last known date of activity falls within these years. - Dictionary of Political Biography
Covers all the major figures in world politics of the twentieth century. - Dictionary of Scientists
From Archimedes and Copernicus to Stephen Hawking and Stephen Jay Gould, a biographical dictionary of scientists. - Dictionary of Women Worldwide:25,000 women through the ages
Contains more than 20,000 brief biographical entries on women, including thousands of entries on non-U.S. figures. - Dictionary of world biography

- Dictionary of Writers and their Works
3,000 entries for writers with their nationality and birth/death dates, followed by a listing of their titles arranged chronologically by date of publication. - Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music
Brings together all the pertinent biographical information about composers, performers, music theorists, and instrument makers from the days of praise chants to the bop and pop of today. - Historical dictionary of British women

- Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography
Provides a guide to the lives, labours and achievements of the men and women who have shaped the world of science. - Marquis Who Was Who in America 1607-1984
Preserves the lifetime accomplishments of many world history-makers. - Marquis Who Was Who in America 1985-present
Preserves the lifetime accomplishments of many world history-makers. - Marquis Who's Who in America
Biographical information on America's most notable men and women from every field of endeavor. - Marquis Who's Who in the World
Provides instant access to over 50,000 personal profiles. - Native American women: a biographical dictionary

- New Grove Book of Opera Singers
Covers over 1500 singers from the birth of opera to the present day. - Notable American Women: 1607-1950
Covers the lives of exceptional women throughout three and a half centuries of American history. - Notable American Women: Completing the Twentieth Century
Entries on significant numbers of women whose death dates fall between January 1, 1976 and December 31, 1999. - Notable American Women: The Modern Period
The life stories of American women, from Edith Abbott to Mary Zimbalist who have in some way affected contemporary American life are explored. - Oxford Dictionary of American Art and Artists
A biographical and critical guide to American art from colonial times to contemporary postmodernism. - Oxford Dictionary of Art and Artists
Includes biographical entries for artists, critics, collectors, dealers, and patrons, with places and full dates of birth and death. - Oxford Dictionary of Popes
Presents biographical accounts in chronological order of all the officially recognized popes from St Peter to Pope Benedict XVI. - Oxford Dictionary of Saints
Provides concise accounts of the lives, cults, relationships through patronage, and artistic associations of more than a thousand saints. - Palgrave Macmillan Dictionary of Women's Biography
Includes women who have hit the headlines in the five years since the last edition. - Penguin Biographical Dictionary of Women
Has entries on women from all over the world, and through the ages. - Routledge dictionary of anthropologists

- Routledge dictionary of twentieth-century political thinkers

- Who's Who In Economics
An extensive and authoritative guide to the most frequently cited academic economists. - Who's Who in the Twentieth Century
Provides biographies of men and women from different countries and cultures who have contributed to the thought as well as the action of the twentieth century.
Chris Hurst |

Loading...


Loading...
