Skip to main content

Anthropology and Archaeology: Print Reference Sources

A guide to Anthropology & Archaeology resources available through the library

Reference Works

Reference sources provide background information to your topic.  They're on the main floor of the library & will give you background information and keywords to use when searching databases.

You might want to try:

General Anthropology Terms & Concepts

  • Dictionary of Concepts in Cultural Anthropology (1991) Reference GN307.W56
  • Encyclopedia of Anthropology (2006) Reference GN11. 53
  • Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology (1996) Reference GN307.E52

 

General Archaeology Terms & Concepts

  • Archaeology of Prehistoric Native America (1998) Reference E77.9. A72 1998
  • Encyclopedia of Archaeology (2008) Reference CC70. E53
  • Encyclopedia of Precolonial Africa: Archaeology, History, Languages, Cultures (1997) Reference DT2.E53
  • Medieval Archaeology (2001) Reference D125. M43
  • Milestones in Archaeology (2007) Reference CC100. M87
  • The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Archaeology (2003) CC70. D38
  • The World Atlas of Archaeology (2000) Reference CC165. C59 2000

 

First Nations

  • Native America: Portrait of the Peoples (1994) Reference E89.C34
  • Native Canadian Anthropology and History (Bibliography) (1994) Reference Z1209.2.C3K74
  • The Native North American Almanac (2001) Reference E77.N377
  • The Sioux and other Native American Cultures of the Dakotas (1993) Reference E99.D1H66

 

Forensics

  • Forensic Science: An Encyclopedia of History, Methods, and Techniques (2006) Reference HV8073. T55

 

Linguistics

*For languages, see our Classical and Modern Languages LibGuide*

  • International Encyclopedia of Linguistics (1992) Reference P29.I58
  • The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Language (1987) Reference P29.C64
  • The Linguistics Encyclopaedia (1991) Reference P29.L52

 

 

Subject Guide

Rainer Schira's picture
Rainer Schira
Contact:
204-727-7688

Accessing Databases & ebooks from Home


If you are a student or faculty member at Brandon University, you can access resources from off campus.  Click what you need, and you'll see a white screen asking you to log in.  Once you log in, it should link to the resource you clicked.

To log in, you will need your Brandon University username and password - the same username and password you use to log into the Brandon University network when you're on campus. If you have not claimed your username and password or you are having trouble logging in with those, you should contact the Brandon University Help Desk (Phone 571-8500 Monday -Friday 8:30AM to 4:30PM).  You can also claim the id yourself.