Skip to main content

English: Finding Journal Articles

A guide to help you find library resources for English literature and writing

BU Library QuickLinks

Accessing Databases & ebooks from Home


If you are a student or faculty member at Brandon University, you can access resources from off campus.  Click what you need, and you'll see a white screen asking you to log in.  Once you log in, it should link to the resource you clicked.

To log in, you will need your Brandon University username and password - the same username and password you use to log into the Brandon University network when you're on campus. If you have not claimed your username and password or you are having trouble logging in with those, you should contact the Brandon University Help Desk (Phone 571-8500 Monday -Friday 8:30AM to 4:30PM).  You can also claim the id yourself.

Finding Journal Articles

Search the databases below for scholarly (academic or peer-reviewed) articles.

If you're not on campus, you'll be asked to log in before connecting to the database.

Some databases link to full articles, but sometimes you need to open the Journals List and search for the journal title.

If an article is not in our library or online, order it through Inter-Library Loans. It's free, but usually takes a week or two.

If you're writing a paper, don't forget to cite your sources! You'll probably need to use the Modern Languages Association (MLA) style guide when writing papers. The library has a copy on reserve:
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
- Reserve LB2369.M53,
or else you can check the BU Writing Centre online summary of MLA Style. Another great resource for various citation styles, with examples and sample papers, is this site.

 

Literature Databases in EBSCOhost:

General Databases Relevant to Literature

  • Cambridge Journals Online Literary journals indexed include Anglo-Saxon England, Cambridge Journal of Postcolonial Literary Inquiry, Victorian Literature and Culture, and others.
  • JSTOR Popular Full-text database; all articles at least two years old
  • Sage Journals Online Includes Full text articles
  • Contemporary Authors Biographical information, lists of works, media adaptations, honours and awards, etc.

    Or choose from our list of all databases or the literature databases list.

    Interlibrary Loans


    Interlibrary loans (ILL) provides access to journal articles, books and other items not owned by our library. The service is available to all students, staff, and faculty. It's usually free but can take a week or two to arrive.

    ILLs can be submitted to us via various Databases, as well as via our Online Forms (for information on how this is done see our ILL Flash Tutorial). In either case, you will need to use your Brandon University ILL account to do so.

    For more information, see the Interlibrary Loan page.