Political Science Research Guide: Canadian Politics and Government

As a Branch of Sovereign State, this area focuses on the Canadian System of Government, Canadian Citizens, Canadian Elections and Politics in Canada.  It also encompasses the study of Canada's approach to International Relations.  Particular Issues of relevance include:

Journal Article databases with information on Parliament, Federalism,  Canadian Public Adminsitration,  Constitutional Law, Canadian Public Policy, Canadian Justice System and Canadian International Relations include:
 

• EBSCOHost Academic Search Premier
  Coverage: Interdisciplinary full-text database indexing many Political Science journals. Also has indexing for News Magazines which makes it useful for current events.
   
• Lexis-Nexis Academic
  Coverage:  Database that indexes Legal Journals, laws, statutes, case law.
  NOTE: To access Canadian Case Law, or Canadian Legal Journals from this database, you must first select International Legal - then Canadian Cases OR Canadian Law Journals.  To access Canadian Laws, select International Legal - Canadian Legislation.
   
• Philosopher's Index
  Coverage: Database that indexes journals in the field of Philosophy. Useful for topics dealing with human rights, the social contract, ethics and government. 
   
• CINAHL or MEDLINE
  Coverage: Databases that indexes journals in the field of Nursing and Medicine. Useful for topics dealing with Health Care issues in Government and Politics.
   
• SocIndex
  Coverage: Database that indexes journals in the field of Sociology. Useful for topics dealing with Canadian Society and the Canadian Justice System (Policing & Courts)
   
• Additional Interdisciplinary Databases which will cover Political Science issues include JSTOR, Periodical Archive Online, Project Muse and Web of Knowledge

To locate Journal Articles Dealing with:

• Political Rights and Citizenship, consult one the the Political Rights and Political Participation Datases listed in the Box Below to search a database that covers specific demographic groups (Aborigninal People, Religious Groups, Gays, Poor, etc.)
   
•  A Historical Treatment of Canadian Government  consult:  
   
  • America: History and Life
    Useful database for Canadian History Topics -  like the history of Canadian Federalism.

Databases that will provide information about the political rights and political participation of different groups include:
 

• LBGT Life
  Coverage: Full-text database focused on Sexual Orientation and Gender Studies. Useful for topics dealing with equality, rights, women's groups, Gay and Lesbian Groups, and gender and politics. 
   
• ATLA Religion Index
  Coverage: Database that indexes journals in the field of Religion. Useful for topics dealing with religious equality, religion,society and politics. 
   
• Philosopher's Index
  Coverage: Database that indexes journals in the field of Philosophy. Useful for topics dealing with human rights, the social contract, ethics and government. 
   
• SocIndex
  Coverage: Database that indexes journals in the field of Sociology. Useful for topics dealing with social groups.
   
• Bibliography of Native North Americans
  Coverage: Database that indexes journals in the field of Native Studies. Useful for topics dealing with First Nations People, equality, and political rights, and First Nations People and Politics.

After searching a Database, you may need to learn if an article cited is in a journal held by the library. 

To learn if the library owns the journal, search our Journal Titles List.

If a journal is not in our collection, you can still get the article via Inter-Library Loans.

If you are a student or faculty member at Brandon University, you can access databases from off campus.

If you are accessing the library's web site from off campus, most links on the library's web site will first take you to the Proxy Authentication Page, where you can log in with your Brandon University username and password. Once you have logged in, you will be taken to the destination of the link. You should only have to log in once per session.

To log in, you will need your Brandon University username and password - the same username and password you use to log into the Brandon University network when you're on campus. If you have not claimed your username and password or you are having trouble logging in with those, you should contact the Brandon University Help Desk (Phone 571-8500 Monday -Friday 8:30AM to 4:30PM).

For more information, see the Off-Campus Access Page