Political Science Research Guide: Polls and Data

Politicians and Political Scientists alike use Polls and Data to measure:

1. The mood or beliefs of citizens (Opinion Polls)

2. Economic and Social Indicators (Economic Data, Census Data, Household Income, etc.)

3. Data related to Interest Groups and their influence on Government 

To find Polling Data consult the Polling Data Box Below.

To find Economic and Social Data, visit our Government Documents Library Guide with links to City, Provincial, Federal and International Data sites.

To find Data related to Political Advocacy and Government, see the Political Contributions Box Below

Manitoba Polling Data

• Probe Research
  This Winnipeg-based company does the vast majority of surveys focused solely on Manitoba.  Use for Provincial Data.

Canadian Polling Data

• Eric Grenier / CBC Poll Tracker 
  Provides an assessment of how the Parties are faring based upon the findings of multiple surveys over the course of a few days.  
   
• Ipsos Reid
  Ipsos Reid is a world-wide research firm that provides data on a wide range of issues including Public Affairs.  The link above is to is Canada Polls site.
   
• Ekos Research Associates:  Ekos Polltics
  This Site has links to recent Ekos surveys as they relate to Canadian Politics
   
• Harris-Decima
  Provides links to Harris-Decima Political, Social, Economic and Consumer Data.
   
• Angus Reid Public Opinion
  This site provides provides Canadian polling data from Angus Reid - a subdivision of Vision Critical. Angus Reid is known for its extensive coverage of provincial and federal elections in Canada, and for online poling practices that are deemed to provide  accurate forecasts in Canadian elections.
   
• Strategic Council
  Contains links to many polls it has done for CTV News/Globe and Mail from 2005-2009.
   
• Nanos Research
  Lists Research Data from Canada, Ontario and the United States.
   
• Leger Marketing
  Large Canadian Marketing Company. Has Voting Intentions and Trends Data.
  
   
• Compas
  Select from Compas Library or What's New to find Election Surveys, Policy and Opinion Surveys, or Business and Economy Surveys.  

Canadian Aggregator Public Opinion Sites

• Eric Grenier / CBC Poll Tracker 
  Provides an assessment of how the Parties are faring based upon the findings of multiple surveys over the course of a few days.
   
• Three-HundredEight.com (2008-2017)
  Aggregates  data from multiple polls to give a summary of where each party stands.  

• 338 Canada 
  The 338Canada project is a statistical model of electoral projections based on opinion polls, electoral history of Canadian provinces and demographic data. This web site is the creation of P.J. Fournier, astronomy and physics professor at Cégep de Saint-Laurent in Montréal.

American Polling Data

• Pew Research Center
  Rich collection of data for Politics, Public Opinion, etc. 
   
• Gallup 
  Another good collection for data on Politics and Public Opinion
   
• Rasmussen Reports
  Click on Recent Polls to find current data on U.S. Politics
   
• Quinnipiac
   
• Survey U.S.A. Poll Results

Aggregate American Polling Data Sites

• FiveThirtyEight main site. 

This synopsis of electoral polls uses Nate Silvers Forecast Model to project likely winners.

• Real Clear Politics 

See the results of the latest opinion polls. 
 

2020 U.S. Election 
 

• FiveThirtyEight 2020 Forecast 

This synopsis of electoral polls uses Nate Silvers Forecast Model to project likely winners.  Broader electoral polling information can be found at the FiveThirtyEight main site. 
 

• The Upshot

This New York Times Polling site The Upshot - by Nate Cohn -   consists of a collection of electoral forecasts and data.  It includes the Upshot of Daily Polls and the Presidential Path to 270.  

In the past the New York Times polling site was known as  FiveThirtyEight and run by Nate Silver.  Nate Silver  now has a different site for his projections (see site above).  

United States

• Maplight
  Created by a nonpartisan organization devoted to the impact of money on politics, this site is hosted on Google Fusion and contains downloadable tables. It states:

  "Citizens, journalists, and programmers can now view, search, sort, filter, and visualize (with charts, line graphs, bar graphs, scatter plots, and timelines) federal campaign contributions using Google Fusion Tables. Data can also be merged with outside databases, and visualizations can be easily embedded into blogs, media sites, and more."

• OpenSecrets.Org
  Nonpartisan guide to money’s influence on U.S. elections and public policy.  As part of their site they have the Lobbying Database with information on the amount of lobbying dollars given to elected officials in the U.S.
   
• Federal Elections Commission
  Campaign Finance Data