This is the "Home" page of the "Applied Disaster and Emergency Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Applied Disaster and Emergency Studies   Tags: ades, disaster_studies, emergency_planning  

This is a guide to ADES resources available through the library and the open web.
Last Updated: Feb 2, 2012 URL: http://libguides.brandonu.ca/disaster Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

My job in this guide is to help you find and use Applied Disaster and Emergency Studies information.

If you have any ideas about how to make this guide better, please get in contact with me (my contact information is to the right).

 

Public Safety Canada News

Loading Loading...
 
 View Feed
blank padding
 

Your thoughts?

I find this guide

Really helpful
Sort of helpful
Could be better
Didn't help me at all

 

Home

These are a few databases to get you started searching for information.  These have both scholarly (academic or peer-reviewed) and news sources.  For more suggestions, see our complete list of ADES-related databases

If you're not on campus, you'll be asked to log in before connecting to the database.

Some databases link to full articles, but you might need to open the Full Text Journals List and search for the journal title.

If an article is not in our library or online, order it through Inter-Library Loans. It's free, but usually takes a week or two.

If you're writing a paper or giving a formal presentation, don't forget to cite your sources!  The American Psychological Association (APA) is one of the most frequently-requested formats.  Click here to open the BU Writing Centre's summary of the guide (pops up as a text file), or ask for it at the John E Robbins Library Circulation desk (Reserve BF76.7.A46).

Applied Disaster and Emergency Studies draws on research from a number of disciplines, so you may need to search more than one database to meet your information needs.

Multi-discipline Databases

Electronic Books

  • ebrary (works best with Internet Explorer--you'll need to spend a moment installing an ebook reader)
  • Myilibrary Electronic Books (from Oxford UP, Cambridge UP, and Taylor & Francis)

General Database: Canadian Scholarly & News Sources

Full list of suggested databases for ADES.

Full list of databases by title

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Rainer Schira
Contact Info
204 - 727-7463
Send Email
 

Interlibrary Loans

Interlibrary loans (ILL) provides access to journal articles, books and other items unavailable through the library. The service is available to all students, staff and faculty, is usually free and can take anywhere from a few days to a few weeks, depending on the library supplying us.

ILLs can be submitted to us via various Databases, as well as via our Online Forms (for information on how this is done see our ILL Flash Tutorial.). In either case, you will need to use your Brandon University ILL account to do so.

For more information, see the Interlibrary Loan page.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip