This is the "Home" page of the "Dissertations and Theses" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Dissertations and Theses  

Last Updated: Feb 28, 2011 URL: http://libguides.brandonu.ca/dissertations Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Interlibrary Loans

Interlibrary Loans

Interlibrary loans (ILL) provides access to journal articles, books and other items unavailable through the library. The service is available to all students, staff and faculty, is usually free (although not in the case of most dissertations) and can take anywhere from a few days to a few weeks, depending on the library supplying us.

ILLs can be submitted to us via various Databases, as well as via our Online Forms (for information on how this is done see our ILL Flash Tutorial.). In either case, you will need to use your Brandon University ILL account to do so.

For more information, see the Interlibrary Loan page.

Dissertations and Theses

A dissertation is definied as a lengthy, formal treatise, especially one written by a candidate for the doctoral degree at a university. Sometimes these are indexed in subject databases. Many times they aren't, so there are specialized indexes for them. A few of those specialized indexes are below.

If you need a dissertation found in one of these indexes and the dissertation can't be found online, then it's going to take the library's time and probably your money to obtain the dissertation. The people to talk to are the interlibrary loans staff - see the box to the left. The good news is that many universities are making an effort to put their student's dissertations online.

  • Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology Online  
    Rating
    An international database of bibliographic records for completed dissertations and new dissertation topics in the fields of musicology, music theory, and ethnomusicology, as well as in related musical, scientific, and humanistic disciplines.
  • Electronic Theses and Dissertations  
    Rating
    A collection of Electronic Theses and Dissertations mounted at Virginia Tech which contains both free and non-accessible titles from 87 universities.
  • Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations  
    Rating
    An international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic analogues to the traditional paper-based theses and dissertations.
  • OAIster  
    Rating
    Harvested Open Archive Collections - including many dissertations
  • Theses Canada Portal  
    Rating
    The central access point for Canadian theses and information about the Theses Canada program.

Chris Hurst

Profile Image
Chris Hurst
Logo - Google Talk
Contact Info
727-9687
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip