LibGuides: Government Documents: Find a Law

Find a law in print at BU Library

BU Library does have a print collection of laws/statutes/regulations for Manitoba and Canada. Ask for assistance to find these materials.

Find a law online

CanLII: Canadian Legal Information Institute
CanLII is a non-profit organization managed by the Federation of Law Societies of Canada. CanLII's goal is to make Canadian law accessible for free on the Internet. This website provides access to court judgments, tribunal decisions, statutes and regulations from all Canadian jurisdictions.
CanLII (Manitoba section)
This site includes fulltext versions of Manitoba Statutes and Regulations, Decisions of the Court of Appeal, Court of Queen's Bench, Provincial Court of Manitoba, a variety of Boards and Tribunals,.
Explore Our Country, Our Parliament
Learn about the 3 levels of government in Canada: federal. provincial/territorial, and municipal.
Treaties, laws and regulations
Sections: Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms, Canada Gazette, Laws and Regulations by department or agency, International Treaties, Government Bills, Laws and Regulations, Treaties with Indigenous peoples, Federal Regulatory Management
Guide to Canadian Legal Information
Canada: Department of Justice ("...statutes, regulations, recent legislation, court decisions, constitutional documents and related materials. .")
Table of Public Statutes and Responsible Ministers
Showing all the chapters of the Revised Statutes of Canada, 1985, with their amendments, and certain other public Acts and their amendments.
Justice Laws Website
Welcome to the online source of the consolidated Acts and Regulations of Canada. The consolidations are generally updated every two weeks.
Manitoba Laws

Heinonline
HeinOnline is a premier online database containing more than 150 million pages and 200,000 titles of legal history and government documents in a fully searchable, image-based format. HeinOnline bridges the gap in historical research by providing comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 2,500 law-related periodicals. In addition to its vast collection of law journals, HeinOnline contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.

Heinonline also is a source for some Canadian and Provincial Statutes - current, historical, and revised. Note that the collection is not complete, but additions are made periodically. When you connect to this database, look for the box titled Browse Databases by Name section, and click on the desired entry. There also is a Library Guide at the database for information about the Provincial Statutes collection -

Heinonline Library Guide: Provincial Statutes of Canada

Subject Guide

Marian Ramage

she / her / hers

Email Me

Contact:

I am available to meet with students and faculty members in person, on Zoom, on Teams, or by phone:

204-727-9645

Subjects: Faculty - Education, Reference