Tuberculosis - Indigenous Resources - Background, Policy, Analysis

Suggestions

Government of Canada: Advanced Search
Search government repositories, websites, documents, Statistics Canada. A good choice for beginning a search for Canadian materials.

Annual report of tuberculosis institutions
1937-1947.
Ottawa : Dominion Bureau of Statistics, Institutional Statistics Branch, [1939-1950]
Tuberculosis institutions
1948-1952.
Canada: Dominion Bureau of Statistics, Department of Trade and Commerce
Tuberculosis among Indians and Eskimos, 1950-1952
Ottawa: Dominion Bureau of Statistics
Tuberculosis statistics / Dominion Bureau of Statistics, Health and Welfare Division, Institutions Section
1953-1961.
Canada: Dominion Bureau of Statistics, Health and Welfare Division, Institutions Section
Tuberculosis statistics. Volume I, Tuberculosis morbidity and mortality
1962-1972.
Ottawa: Dominion Bureau of Statistics, Health and Welfare Division, Public Health Section
Tuberculosis statistics, morbidity and mortality
1973
Ottawa: Statistics Canada, Health Division Epidemiology Section
Tuberculosis statistics, morbidity and mortality, facilities and services
1974-1975.
Canada: Statistics Canada, Health Division Epidemiology Section
Tuberculosis statistics, morbidity and mortality
1976-1987.
Statistics Canada, Health Division, Vital Statistics and Disease Registries Section
Health reports. Supplement No. 10, Tuberculosis statistics : morbidity and mortality
1987-1990.
Ottawa: Statistics Canada, Canadian Centre for Health Information
Tuberculosis statistics
1991-1994.
Ottawa: Statistics Canada, Canadian Centre for Health Information
Tuberculosis in Canada / [issued by the] Tuberculosis Prevention and Control, Bureau of HIV/AIDS, STD and TB, Laboratory Centre for Disease Control.
1996-2001
Ottawa: [issued by the] Tuberculosis Prevention and Control, Bureau of HIV/AIDS, STD and TB, Laboratory Centre for Disease Control.
Tuberculosis in Canada
2002-
Ottawa: [issued by the] Tuberculosis Prevention and Control, Community Acquired Infections Division, Centre for Infectious Disease Prevention and Control.
Tuberculosis in Canada: 1924-2012
Canada Communicable Disease Report (CCDR) / Volume 40-6, March 20, 2014: Tuberculosis, pages 99-108
Tuberculosis in Canada. Pre-release
2000-2014
Ottawa: Canada. Health Canada. Public Health Agency of Canada.
Tuberculosis in Canada, 2013
Canada Communicable Disease Report (CCDR) / Volume 41S-2, March 19, 2015: Tuberculosis / includes A summary of Tuberculosis in Canada, 2013
Tuberculosis in Canada - 2015
Volume 43-3/4, March 2, 2017: Tuberculosis (TB) / includes articles Tuberculosis in Canada 2015 (Summary and Supplementary Data)
Tuberculosis in Canada, 2016
Canada Communicable Disease Report (CCDR) : Volume 44-3/4, March 1, 2018: Can we eliminate tuberculosis?
Issue contains articles re Tuberculosis in Canada, 2016
Tuberculosis in Canada: 2017
Canada Communicable Disease Report (CCDR) / Volume 45-2/3, February 7, 2019 / pages 67-73.
Mistreated: The legacy of segregated hospitals haunts Indigenous survivors
CBC News story/Lauren Pelley/January 29, 2018/"CBC spoke to numerous hospital survivors and researchers about this segregated health-care system, as well as activists hoping to broaden the conversation about reconciliation and expose how decades of isolation and mistreatment have harmed First Nations and Inuit communities to this day."
Indigenous Histories of Tuberculosis in Manitoba, 1930-1970
The "...website of “Indigenous Histories of Tuberculosis in Manitoba, 1930-1970,” a major research project led by Dr. Mary Jane McCallum of the University of Winnipeg. Funded by the Canadian Institutes for Health Research, this project explores the experiences of First Nations, Métis and Inuit people who were treated for tuberculosis in Manitoba between 1930 and 1970. "
Manitoba Indigenous Tuberculosis History Project (MITHP)
MITHP is an Indigenous-led and community-engaged Indigenous health history research project. Our team works with Indigenous tuberculosis (TB) patients, families, communities, and organizations on research that addresses the concerns of our Indigenous stakeholders.
more...less...
On this website you will find resources to learn about First Nations, Métis, and Inuit patients who were diagnosed with TB and treated in Manitoba TB hospitals
Missing Patients Research Guide
Created by the Manitoba Indigenous Tuberculosis History Project this research guide helps people who are looking for information on burials of individuals who were sent away for tuberculosis (TB) treatment and did not return.
Tuberculosis in Canada / G.J. Wherrett.
Canada. Royal Commission on Health Services, 1965
""The purpose of this report is to set out the problem of tuberculosis in Canada, the progress already made in its control, the special problems remaining, the services which exist and the changes needed to eradicate the disease as a public health problem"--Preface."
more...less...
"List of Tables -- Figures - Acknowledgements -- Introduction -- Tuberculosis Mortality and Morbidity -- Reporting of Tuberculosis -- Organization of Tuberculosis Services in Canada -- Health Grants -- Integration of Tuberculosis with General Medical Services -- Changing Goals of Tuberculosis Control -- Changing Trends and Programmes in Other Countries -- Special Problems Not Shared by General Medical Services -- Indians and Eskimos -- Research -- The Place of BCG in the Programme -- The Place of the Voluntary Association -- Summary -- Conclusions."
Inequalities in Tuberculosis in Canada, 2010-2014
Public Health Agency of Canada. Key Health Inequalities in Canada: A National Portrait. Ottawa : Public Health Agency of Canada; 2018.
BU Library Guide: Indigenous Resources: Links & Online Sources: Health
BU Library Guide: Health Statistics
Statistics Canada Library
"The Statistics Canada Library houses a comprehensive repository of publications produced by Statistics Canada and its predecessor organizations. This includes a collection of historical material dating back to 1841 that provides information on topics such as the census, foreign trade and industrial production."
more...less...
"The Library also has a collection of externally published resources on statistical methodology, sociology, economics, industry, trade and other subjects of current and former interest to Statistics Canada."
Some content is full text. Includes links to online Census materials.

Indigenous Resources - Background, Policy, Analysis: Tuberculosis

Suggestions