This is the "Finding Journal Articles" page of the "Health Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Health Studies   Tags: health studies, nursing, psychiatric nursing  

This guide includes links and tutorials to help you make the most of Brandon U's library resources for health studies students in the nursing and psychiatric nursing programs.
Last Updated: Mar 8, 2012 URL: http://libguides.brandonu.ca/nursing Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Finding Journal Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Accessing Databases & ebooks from Home


If you are a student or faculty member at Brandon University, you can access resources from off campus.  Click what you need, and you'll see a white screen asking you to log in.  Once you log in, it should link to the resource you clicked.

To log in, you will need your Brandon University username and password - the same username and password you use to log into the Brandon University network when you're on campus. If you have not claimed your username and password or you are having trouble logging in with those, you should contact the Brandon University Help Desk (Phone 571-8500 Monday -Friday 8:30AM to 4:30PM).  You can also claim the id yourself.

 

Finding Journal Articles

Search the databases below for scholarly (academic or peer-reviewed) articles or news sources.

If you're not on campus, you'll be asked to log in before connecting to the database.

Some databases link to full articles, but sometimes you need to open the Journals List and search for the journal title.

If an article is not in our library or online, order it through Inter-Library Loans. It's free, but usually takes a week or two.

If you're writing a paper, don't forget to cite your sources!  Many nursing professors prefer you to use the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (but check with your instructor if you're not sure!). The library has a copy on reserve at the circulation desk, call number BF 76.7 P83 2001. The BU Writing Centre created an online summary of the APA style guide.


Health Sciences Databases

  • CINAHL (from EBSCO) our most important database of nursing information sources
  • Health Source Nursing/Academic Edition (from EBSCO) nursing and health studies
  • Medline from the National Library of Medicine. Easiest version to use with RefWorks
  • PubMed (National Library of Medicine) Free version with fewer features--no login required.

 Psychology Database:

  • PsychInfo (from EBSCO) includes information relevant to psychiatric nursing

 General Databases

You can also look at our nursing database list or the list of all our databases and choose one.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Rainer Schira
Contact Info
204 - 727-7463
Send Email
 

Your thoughts?

I find this guide

Really helpful
Sort of helpful
Could be better
Didn't help me at all

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip