Skip to main content

Psychology: Finding Journal Articles

The BU Library Guide to Psychology Resources

BU Library QuickLinks

Off-Campus Access

Accessing Databases from Home

If you are a student or faculty member at Brandon University, you can access databases from off campus.

If you are accessing the library's web site from off campus, most links on the library's web site will first take you to the Proxy Authentication Page, where you can log in with your Brandon University username and password. Once you have logged in, you will be taken to the destination of the link. You should only have to log in once per session.

To log in, you will need your Brandon University username and password - the same username and password you use to log into the Brandon University network when you're on campus. If you have not claimed your username and password or you are having trouble logging in with those, you should contact the Brandon University Help Desk (Phone 571-8500 Monday -Friday 8:30AM to 4:30PM).

For more information, see the Off-Campus Access Page

Finding Journal Articles

A journal is like a magazine except that the articles in it are written by researchers and have been checked by other scholars in a process called peer review. Journal articles are where important new research is found.

Information about journal articles can be found in databases. The library provides access to many databases. Some databases have the full text of articles right in them (like EBSCOhost's Academic Search Premier or JSTOR) and some databases just have descriptions of the articles and links to the full text (like Web of Science). I recommend starting with the PsycINFO database because it has the broadest coverage of psychology articles.

You could search Google (or it's research oriented brother Google Scholar). Some journal articles are available on the open web, but many aren't. Brandon University buys access to articles that aren't available on the open web and won't be found by a Google search.

Web of Science Tutorials

To help you with your searching for journal articles in Web of Science, the people who created Web of Science have produced videos:

There is also a Web of Science Quick Reference Card, 4 pages of concentrated instruction on how to use Web of Science.

Interlibrary Loans

Interlibrary Loans

Interlibrary loans (ILL) provides access to journal articles, books and other items unavailable through the library. The service is available to all students, staff and faculty, is usually free and can take anywhere from a few days to a few weeks, depending on the library supplying us.

ILLs can be submitted to us via various Databases, as well as via our Online Forms  In either case, you will need to use your Brandon University ILL account to do so.

For more information, see the Interlibrary Loan page.