BU Library QuickLinks
Quotations
Need to know who said those famous words? Then consult these electronic reference books:
- Bloomsbury Biographical Dictionary of Quotations
Includes both familiar quotations and perceptive or witty sayings that are less well known. - Bloomsbury Thematic Dictionary of Quotations
Ideal for seeking an apt quotation on a particular theme. - Book of Bible Quotations
This book has been compiled for reference, for practical helpfulness and for the sheer enjoyment of browsing through the Bible’s riches. - Collins Concise Dictionary of Quotations
Quotations arranged thematically for ease of reference, from advertising and humour, to cinema and last words. - Concise Oxford Dictionary of Quotations
Contains over 9,000 diverse quotations from over 2,400 authors ranging from historical and literary quotations to the recent sayings of public figures. - Elgar Dictionary of Economic Quotations
The coverage is not merely confined to economists, but includes quotes from essayists, jurists, philosophers, politicians, religious leaders, revolutionaries, scientists, and numerous other important figures who have contributed to our understanding of economic matters. - Oxford Dictionary of American Quotations
Covers more than five hundred topics, giving readers a nutshell history of what great (and not-so-great) Americans had to say about each one. - Oxford Dictionary of Modern Quotations
Offers a vivid picture both of the world today, and of the landmark events and key voices leading to it. - Oxford Dictionary of Quotations
Quotations covering people and events from Cleopatra to J. K. Rowling, and the battle of Marathon to the Hutton Inquiry. - Oxford Dictionary of Scientific Quotations
Presents the human face of science, as scientists reflect on achievements and failures in their own lives and those of others. - People on people: the Oxford dictionary of biographical quotations

- Rawson's Dictionary of American Quotations
Covers the whole gamut of American life, culture and politics. - Routledge dictionary of religious & spiritual quotations

- Simpson's Contemporary Quotations
Bons mots, witticisms, epigrams and profundities from nearly 4,000 people - famous and infamous, renowned and obscure. - They never said it: a book of fake quotes, misquotes, and misleading attributions

Chris Hurst |



Loading...
