Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Canadian History Research Guide: Finding E-Books

BU Library QuickLinks

Off-Campus Access

If you are a student or faculty member at Brandon University, you can access databases from off campus.

If you are accessing the library's web site from off campus, most links on the library's web site will first take you to the Proxy Authentication Page, where you can log in with your Brandon University username and password. Once you have logged in, you will be taken to the destination of the link. You should only have to log in once per session.

To log in, you will need your Brandon University username and password - the same username and password you use to log into the Brandon University network when you're on campus. If you have not claimed your username and password or you are having trouble logging in with those, you should contact the Brandon University Help Desk (Phone 571-8500 Monday -Friday 8:30AM to 4:30PM).

For more information, see the Off-Campus Access Page

Finding E-Books

The library currently has access two e-book collections that are important to Canadian History:

  • ebrary - which is a collection of electronic books from Canadian Publishers and the most likely place to find ebooks related to Canadian History
  • eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) - Large collection of ebooks
  • MyiLibrary - collection of books from Oxford University Press, Cambridge University Press, and Taylor and Francis.

You will need to check out of information on Off-Campus Access if you are trying to access these collections from home.

If you want to find hardcover books in our collection do not forget to check the library catalog

If you want to get additional books not held in our collection and order them for free, try searching WorldCat or any Other Library Catalogs and then tell us to place an Inter-Library Loan.   These items take a week or two to arrive, so place your request a few weeks before you need the item.

If you want to find Theses not in our collection, check out the Thesis Canada Portal or Proquest  Dissertation and Thesis Global for online Canadian Theses.  They are also substantive.

 

Contact

Profile Photo
Carmen Kazakoff-Lane
Contact:
Carmen Kazakoff -Lane, Scholarly Communications Librarian
John E. Robbins Library - ( LB 2-19 )
270-18th Street
Brandon, Manitoba
R7A 6A9

Ph: (204) 727-7483

VIDEOCONFERENCING:
*Microsoft Meetings: Kazakoff@brandonu.ca
*Zoom Invite to Kazakoff@brandonu.ca


Website Skype Contact: Kazakofflane