Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Philosophy Research Guide: Philosophy Databases

Guide to useful tools when doing research in the field of Philosophy and Ethics.

BU Library QuickLinks

Off-Campus Access

If you are a student or faculty member at Brandon University, you can access databases from off campus.

If you are accessing the library's web site from off campus, most links on the library's web site will first take you to the Proxy Authentication Page, where you can log in with your Brandon University username and password. Once you have logged in, you will be taken to the destination of the link. You should only have to log in once per session.

To log in, you will need your Brandon University username and password - the same username and password you use to log into the Brandon University network when you're on campus. If you have not claimed your username and password or you are having trouble logging in with those, you should contact the Brandon University Help Desk (Phone 571-8500 Monday -Friday 8:30AM to 4:30PM).

For more information, see the Off-Campus Access Page

Contact

Profile Photo
Carmen Kazakoff-Lane
Contact:
Carmen Kazakoff -Lane, Scholarly Communications Librarian
John E. Robbins Library - ( LB 2-19 )
270-18th Street
Brandon, Manitoba
R7A 6A9

Ph: (204) 727-7483

VIDEOCONFERENCING:
*Microsoft Meetings: Kazakoff@brandonu.ca
*Zoom Invite to Kazakoff@brandonu.ca


Website Skype Contact: Kazakofflane

Interlibrary Loans

Interlibrary Loans

Interlibrary loans (ILL) provides access to journal articles, books and other itemsunavailable through the library. The service is available to all students, staff and faculty, is usually free and can take anywhere from a few days to a few weeks, depending on the library supplying us.

ILLs can be submitted to us via various Databases, as well as via our Online Forms (for information on how this is done see our ILL Flash Tutorial.). In either case, you will need to use your Brandon University ILL account to do so.

For more information, see the Interlibrary Loan page.

Databases

This is the full list of databases that have journal articles in the field of Philosophy.  They are listed in subject related order - beginning with the general Philosophy Database: Philosopher's Index (which is where I recommend you start) and moving into more specific topic areas (such as Medicine, Sociology, etc) which are the focus of a philosophical debate you may be writing about.  

Philosophy Databases

Philopher's Index
PhilPapers

Interdisciplinary Databases (Journal Databases for all Subject Areas including Philosophy)

JSTOR 
Periodical Archive Online 
EBSCOhost Academic Search Premier 
Project Muse 
ALPS Learned Journal Collection

History Databases  (Useful for research into past philosophers and the time in which they wrote. )

America: History and Life   
Historical Abstracts    
Iter Bibliography

Medical Databases  (Useful for topics searches dealing with medical ethical issues -  like Doctor Assisted Suicide.)

MEDLINE
CINAHL

Sociology Databases (Useful when dealing with philosophical topics related to society.)

SocIndex

Religious Studies Databases  (Useful for ethical topics where you might be contrasting Theological approaches to issues.)

ATLA Religion Index

General Science Databases (Use for Philosophy topics dealing with Science - or when looking information on Science's approach to issues like the origin of the universe, etc.)

Web of Science
GEOBASE

Videos to get you started

Does the Library Have the Journal?

After searching a Database, you may need to learn if an article cited is in a journal held by the library. 

To learn if the library owns the journal, search our Journal Titles List.

If a journal is not in our collection, you can still get the article via Inter-Library Loans.