Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
BU Library QuickLinks
Library Home Page
The home page of the John E. Robbins Library
BU Library Catalogue
Search the library catalog for books, journals, and online links
BU Journal List
The list of journals that Brandon University students and faculty have access to
BU Database List
The list of databases that Brandon University students and faculty have access to.
Primary Sources on the Web
Epistolae: Medieval Women's Letters - Free
Epistolæ is a collection of letters to and from women in the Middle Ages, from the 4th to the 13th century. The letters, written in Latin, are linked to the names of the women involved, with English translations and, where available, biographical sketches of the women and some description of the subject matter or the historic context of the letter.
Medieval Travel Writing
Presents manuscripts of some of the most important works of European travel writing from the later medieval period. - Coverage: 13th-16th Centuries
Medieval Family Life
Contains full colour images of the original medieval manuscripts that comprise these family letter collections along with full text searchable transcripts from the printed editions, where they are available.
Online Medieval Source Bibliography - free
This database provides a searchable bibliography of texts from private letters, wills, and household accounts to literary works, philosophical treatises, chronicles, court proceedings, church records, and a host of other documents. Where appropriate, the bibliography also includes hyperlinks to sources that are online.
Digital Scriptorium - free
This is an image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts.
European History Primary Sources (EHPS) - free
The purpose of EHPS is to provide historians with an easily searchable index of scholarly websites that offer online access to primary sources on the history of Europe.
Anglo-Saxon Penitentials: A cultural database - free
Penitentials are lists of sins and the penances prescribed for them. These texts governed the practice of private confession and penance in the early Middle Ages. This database contains all the vernacular penitentials that survive from Anglo-Saxon England, a period extending from the seventh to the eleventh century.
The Soldier in Later Medieval England - free
This site provides you with information about English soldiers for the years 1369 - 1453. It includes searchable databases of muster rolls, a protection or attorney database (which indicates an intention to serve, rather than actual service) and a Garrison database.
There are also soldier profiles.
, Business Administration
, Classical and Modern Languages
, English and Creative Writing
, Gender and Women’s Studies
, Native Studies
, Political Science
, Rural Development
, Visual and Aboriginal Art