Black History Month and Mental Health

A powerful and practical guide to help you navigate racism, challenge privilege, manage stress and trauma, and begin to heal. Healing from racism is a journey that often involves reliving trauma and experiencing feelings of shame, guilt, and anxiety. This journey can be a bumpy ride, and before we begin healing, we need to gain an understanding of the role history plays in racial/ethnic myths and stereotypes. In so many ways, to heal from racism, you must re-educate yourself and unlearn the processes of racism. This book can help guide you. The Racial Healing Handbook offers practical tools to help you navigate daily and past experiences of racism, challenge internalized negative messages and privileges, and handle feelings of stress and shame. You'll also learn to develop a profound racial consciousness and conscientiousness, and heal from grief and trauma. Most importantly, you'll discover the building blocks to creating a community of healing in a world still filled with racial microaggressions and discrimination. This book is not just about ending racial harm--it is about racial liberation. This journey is one that we must take together. It promises the possibility of moving through this pain and grief to experience the hope, resilience, and freedom that helps you not only self-actualize, but also makes the world a better place.

This book is intended to be an aid to moving people from racist to non-racist to anti-racist. I am writing this book for people who want to be change agents in the area of racial justice.
Each chapter will include helpful information about an aspect of racism. Also, each chapter will include an important step on how to become an anti-racist. Another important aspect of each chapter includes short essays regarding my thoughts on racism in America. These essays will comment on racism from the aspect of several American institutions; such as education, religion, wealth and America’s social climate. These essays were written to help induce the reader to engage in meaningful and thoughtful conversation about racism. Once the reader has read the contents of this book, they will be able to converse from an informative perspective rather than an emotional perspective.

Reflect on your understanding of race and discover ways to work toward an antiracist future with this guided journal from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of How to Be an Antiracist and Stamped from the Beginning. Antiracism is not a destination but a journey--one that takes deliberate, consistent work. Ibram X. Kendi's concept of antiracism has reenergized and reshaped the conversation about racial justice in America and pointed us toward new ways of thinking about ourselves and our society. Whether or not you've read How to Be an Antiracist, this stunning paperback journal offers the opportunity to reflect on your personal commitment to antiracism. Be Antiracist is both a confessional and a log of your journey toward a more equitable and just society. Be Antiracist helps you reflect on topics such as body, power, class, gender, and policy, as well as specific questions like, "Who or what scares you the most when you think about race?" and "How can we go about disconnecting Blackness from criminality?" and "What constitutes an American to you?" Kendi's multipronged approach to self-reflection will challenge you to make change in yourself and your community, and contribute to an antiracist future.

This resource theorizes classroom writing assessment as a complex system that is "more than" its interconnected elements. To explain how and why antiracist work in the writing classroom is vital to literacy learning, Inoue incorporates ideas about the white racial habitus that informs dominant discourses in the academy and other contexts. Inoue helps teachers understand the unintended racism that often occurs when teachers do not have explicit antiracist agendas in their assessments. Drawing on his own teaching and classroom inquiry, Inoue offers a heuristic for developing and critiquing writing assessment ecologies that explores seven elements of any writing assessment ecology: power, parts, purposes, people, processes, products, and places. ASAO B. INOUE is Director of University Writing and Associate Professor of Interdisciplinary Arts and Sciences at the University of Washington Tacoma. He has published on writing assessment, validity, and composition pedagogy in Assessing Writing, The Journal of Writing Assessment, Composition Forum, and Research in the Teaching of English, among other journals and collections. His co-edited collection Race and Writing Assessment (2012) won the CCCC's Outstanding Book Award for an edited collection.

Scratching the Surface brings together 14 anti-racist feminists who examine ways in which race and gender interact to shape the lives of women of colour in Canada. This collection of articles covers a broad range of topics such as the impact of colonialism and its associated discourses on First Nations and other groups of colonized women; racism in the Canadian labour movement; the impact of globalization on women of colour; the ways in which the institution of the nuclear family shapes racism; sexism in communities of colour; and the ways in which the women's movement can create an anti-racist praxis. The book not only provides exciting new insights into how women of colour experience Canadian society, but also provides instructors with a textbook that integrates anti-racist and feminist approaches.

Contrary to those mainstream efforts that paint racism and social oppression as remnants of a troubled past, today's relations of social power remain intractable as they continue to mediate and discipline the lives of the oppressed. Recognizing that racism and other forms of oppression continue to evolve and adapt to our changing times, it is crucial that our strategies for resistance are equally dynamic and proactive. In this reader, Leeno Karumanchery has brought together some of critical theory's most powerful and insurgent voices to explore this vital strand of the anti-racist tapestry by asking, "How do we understand our oppression, and how do we frame and manage our resistance in the face of it?" Engaging Equity is framed as a sociohistoric expose of the Western educational system, revealing the banality of oppression in today's schools. Developed within a philosophy of hope, this book reminds us that real and meaningful change towards social justice can be achieved, but only if our politics, strategies, and resolve are equal to the task.

In this edited collection, respected professor and scholar Allyson Jule brings together leading academics to discuss the evolution of student diversity in contemporary Canadian classrooms. This book explores a wide range of student complexities, including matters such as mental health, Indigenous education, queer education, youth radicalization and extremism, disability, religious practice, ESL, and refugee student support. This book equips teachers with the foundation needed to build a classroom that unpacks the social fabric of individual student and classroom populations from a place of deep understanding and compassion. Using a student-centered methodology, readers learn how to navigate difficult situations in the classroom with empathy and consider the distinct lived experiences that inform students' actions in school. Encouraging critical reflection and a deeper understanding of diversity, this insightful and applicable resource is ideal for students in teacher education programs and for practicing educators across Canada. FEATURES: situates international topics in education, including race, gender, and culture, in a Canadian context includes learning objectives, glossaries, and critical thinking questions within each chapter utilizes both theoretical and research-based approaches to offer a balanced examination of the modern challenges teachers face