Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
BU Library QuickLinks
Library Home Page
The home page of the John E. Robbins Library
BU Library Catalogue
Search the library catalog for books, journals, and online links
BU Journal List
The list of journals that Brandon University students and faculty have access to
BU Database List
The list of databases that Brandon University students and faculty have access to.
Please find below what the library is proposing to de-select from the physical collection this summer: Deselection Lists Spring 2021.
This list of deselections was created in accordance with Senate Library Policy. Specific faculties and departments have been engaged in this process and provided feedback. The Library is now soliciting interdisciplinary feedback from other Teaching Faculty. We appreciate your feedback by May 21, 2021.
What feedback is required?
In instances where the materials are requisite for institutional teaching or institutional research at BU, please use the Retention Request form to submit criteria for retention of the item.
If any materials on the deselection list are of use only for your research or interest, rather than to the broader community teaching and research priorities, please use the Deselected Items Request form to request the item for your personal use. The Library strongly believes that the most effective access that we can provide to esoteric resources is via InterLibrary Loan, rather than keeping them in our Library "in case."
The Library acknowledges that the system statistics capture usage in a comprehensive, but not exhaustive, manner. If you see items on the list that you know you have used (either in the Library, or via loan), please share this using the Report Statistical Errors form.
Why is the Library deselecting these materials?
Regular lifecycle management of a library collection includes both acquisition and deselection; this ensures that the institutional collection remains relevant and of the best possible quality.
The Library has a history of not doing holistic deselection work due to a lack of professional Librarian workload capacity to do so. Over the course of decades, this resulted in overgrowth of the collection and significant impact on the accessibility of our spaces. To meet legislated accessibility requirements, mitigate hazards, and maximize student workspaces, we need to do large scale deselection now and over the next 5 years.
Further information on deselection is provided in the list linked above.
What is the criteria for deselecting materials?
In accordance with our statistical usage criteria, this list consists of items that:
1. Are more than 20 years old,
2. Were not ordered in the last 20 years and,
3. According to our system's loan and in-library use data, have not left the shelf in 20 years (5 degree cycles).
(Note: With respect to health information collections, a 10-year time is used for age, acquisition, and circulation. In discussion with the Faculty of Health Studies, it is important that health information remain current to meet professional standards and safety obligations). Further information on deselection criteria is provided in the list linked above.
In closing, this is a larger scale of deselection than what BU has typically had in the past. It is challenging work that will result in much needed space improvements in the Library. I am happy to answer any questions you have on this process.
I am happy to answer any questions you have on this process,
Melanie Sucha, MLIS |Chief Information Officer
Library, Archives, and IT Services | Brandon University
270 18th Street | Brandon, MB R7A 6A9
E:mail: firstname.lastname@example.org | Tel: 204-727-9688