Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Career Related Resources
Life in the Real World: How to Make Music Graduates Employable by
Call Number: ML3795. L446 2012
Publication Date: 2012-12-01
How can young musicians best prepare for the real world? In a changing global marketplace and transformed music and creative sectors, in an age of information overload, what are the key issues and skills on which emerging artists need to focus? How have recent changes in the industry affected professional opportunities? With the linking theme of exploring one’s professional identity, this book is the only music career guide offering a truly international perspective, essential for creative professionals collaborating online with projects, colleagues and audiences worldwide. Leading authors from the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, Europe and Australia explore key issues for musicians: identity formation, lifelong learning, transitions into and between work, entrepreneurship, changing workplaces, and musicians’ connections with society. The authors’ contributions are enhanced by discussion of work opportunities, education and training in their respective countries, especially useful for musicians interested in study and work abroad. Practical information, perspectives and examples in Part I of the volume are complemented by the resources in Part II, written specifically for use with emerging musicians and those seeking career advice. Part II features practical exercises for career planning and exploration, for goal setting, and for developing networking and project management skills. The 35 reproducible tools are presented in an engaging format for use with individuals and groups. For people interested in music education and training, career planning, professional survival, and helping musicians realise their dreams of success, this book is an essential resource.
Make It: A Guide for Recent Music Graduates by
Call Number: ML3795. G92M35 2016
Publication Date: 2016-10-31
Make It is the only actionable career guide specifically tailored for conservatory-trained musicians. It was written in 2016 by a working bass player under 30, with a focus on the challenges unique to freshly minted music graduates. Topics include: How to Establish Credibility Managing Your Money Effectively Freelancing vs. Entrepreneurship Handling Taxes Staying Focused How To Network Effectively If College Is Actually Worth The Cost How To Become A Resilient Person Conquering Creative Obstacles Creating Opportunities Making A Lasting Impression What people have had to say about Make It: "Emilio Guarino, has written a very interesting book about his experiences as a 21st century musician. He covers topics that are rarely discussed, even between musicians."Dr. Thomas Schuttenhelm, Fulbright Scholar, Composer, Guitarist, and Hartt School Faculty. "I can't recommend this enough. I've read it cover to cover already. Emilio Guarino offers a truly great analysis of how to live and work in the music business in the 21st century. Whether you're a student, recent graduate or seasoned veteran it's worth a read."Dan Merriman, Bassist in the Reading Symphony Orchestra "It's not good for someone of a previous era to give advice out to young people, because it's so different now."Peter Donohoe, concert pianist (2015)
Preparing for Success: A Practical Guide for Young Musicians by
Call Number: Available as an E-Book
This book is a practical guide for young people around the world who wish to build a career as a professional musician. It is a useful resource that will help build a realistic professional vision, support development, and explicate what it takes to make a successful career. As well as providing lots of information, it offers practical tools and exercises to enable you to relate the information to your own situation, and to help realize your potential.
The Musician's Journey: Crafting Your Career Vision and Plan by
Call Number: Available as an E-Book
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
The Musician's Journey escorts musicians, performing artists, music teachers, and advanced music students along the road toward a successful career, offering a vast array of resources to guide them from envisioning the process to achieving the practical details. Jill Timmons provides key tools throughout the journey, from sources as diverse as the world of myth to current brain research, which illuminate compelling real-world examples of music entrepreneurs who forged their own paths to success. Included are chapters on careers in higher education; guidance in how to develop a business plan; general tips on grant writing and financial development; a separate section exploring the stories of other successful musicians; and personal narrative taken from the author's work as a professional musician and consultant. The book includes an extensive bibliography of additional resources, and the companion website offers downloadable worksheets and questionnaires to help readers along their way.
The Savvy Musician by
Call Number: ML3790. C88S28 2010
Publication Date: 2009-10-26
So you’re talented, well trained, and passionate about music. What next? The professional marketplace is flooded with outstanding musicians, forced to compete for a shrinking number of ""traditional"" opportunities. The Savvy Musician helps balance three overriding aspects of your professional musical life: (1) building a career, (2) earning a living, and (3) making a difference. Filled with clearly articulated concepts, detailed strategies, and 165 vignettes about actual musicians working to create a meaningful and prosperous career, this book examines critical elements often overlooked or misunderstood by musicians, and helps you take control of your career. Discover how to build an immediately recognizable ""brand,"" capitalize on technologyfrom Internet tools to the new recording paradigm, expand your network, and raise money to fund your dreams. The Savvy Musician is an invaluable resource for performers, composers, educators, students, administrators, industry employees, and others interested in a thriving musical future.
The Savvy Music Teacher by
Call Number: ML3795. C88S28 2015
Publication Date: 2015-09-15
Is it possible to have a music teaching career that is meaningful, artistically fulfilling, and financially self-supporting? The Savvy Music Teacher unveils a clear, realistic, dollar-for-dollar blueprint for earning a steady income as a music teacher, increasing impact and incomesimultaneously. This comprehensive resource reveals an entrepreneurial process with lessons that cannot be found anywhere else. Armed with Cutler's expert guidance, readers will learn to develop:* A thriving studio with an important curriculum* Multiple income/impact streams* Innovation strategies for every aspect of business and art* Powerhouse marketing* Time management skills* Financial literacy and independence* An inspired career outlookA must-read for independent music teachers of all levels, both beginning and those with established studios, as well as the music performance graduates who so often become studio teachers, The Savvy Music Teacher provides practical advice in down-to-earth language that includes real-lifeexperiences from successful teacher-entrepreneurs.
Beyond Talent by
Call Number: ML3795. B44B49 2020
Publication Date: 2020-01-13
Widely considered a classic, Beyond Talent is the "go to" guide for musicians. This newly revised and updated third edition cracks the code of how to build a creatively fulfilling career in music. With key insights into the mindset issues that often plague musicians, veteran career coach Angela Myles Beeching provides a wealth of strategies, examples, and real-world solutions. Step-by-step instructions detail how to design promotional materials, book performances, fund your projects, and cultivate a community of support so you can manage your career like a pro-without losing your soul. And this edition goes further: it unpacks how to deal head on with the typical "inner" challenges musicians face. From getting past perfectionism and fear, to sustaining motivation, finding your artistic voice, managing projects, time, and money, and setting achievable goals. With her straight-shooting, energizing approach, Beeching presents a wealth of practical solutions to help musicians take charge of their careers and get past the obstacles that have held them back. Whether you're an emerging artist or a mid-career professional, this edition offers the inspiration to transform your music career journey so you can get more of your best work out into the world and finally become the artist you are meant to be. Includes a free downloadable companion workbook.
The Classical Music Industry by
Call Number: Available as an E-Book
Publication Date: 2018-06-12
This volume brings together academics, executives and practitioners to provide readers with an extensive and authoritative overview of the classical music industry. The central practices, theories and debates that empower and regulate the industry are explored through the lens of classical music-making, business, and associated spheres such as politics, education, media and copyright. The Classical Music Industry maps the industry's key networks, principles and practices across such sectors as recording, live, management and marketing: essentially, how the cultural and economic practice of classical music is kept mobile and alive. The book examining pathways to professionalism, traditional and new forms of engagement, and the consequences of related issues--ethics, prestige, gender and class--for anyone aspiring to 'make it' in the industry today. This book examines a diverse and fast-changing sector that animates deep feelings. The Classical Music Industry acknowledges debates that have long encircled the sector but today have a fresh face, as the industry adjusts to the new economics of funding, policy-making and retail The first volume of its kind, The Classical Music Industry is a significant point of reference and piece of critical scholarship, written for the benefit of practitioners, music-lovers, students and scholars alike offering a balanced and rigorous account of the manifold ways in which the industry operates.
Understanding the Classical Music Profession: The Past, the Present and Strategies for the Future by
Call Number: ML3795. B46 2008
Publication Date: 2008-10-17
Understanding the Classical Music Profession is an essential resource for educators, practitioners and researchers who seek to understand the careers of classically-trained musicians, and the extent to which professional practice is reflected within existing classical performance-based music education and training. Taking Australia as a case-study, Dawn Bennett outlines how Australia is now a service economy, and an important component of service provision is in the culture and recreation industries. Despite this, employment in culture and recreation is poorly understood and a lack of cultural intelligence contributes to a less than satisfactory environment that inhibits the creative potential of cultural practitioners. Musicians in the twenty-first century require a broad and evolving base of skills and knowledge to sustain their careers as cultural practitioners. Bennett maintains that a musician cannot be simply defined as a performer, but that a musician is someone who works within the profession of music in one or more specialist fields. The perception of a musician as a multi-skilled professional working within a portfolio career has significant implications for policy, funding, education and training, and for practitioners and students seeking to achieve sustainable careers. This indispensable book provides a comprehensive analysis of life as a musician, from education and training to professional practice as well as revealing the structure of the Australian cultural industries. Although Australia is the focus of the book, the basis of the research originates from many different places and most of the issues discussed relate directly to other countries throughout the world.
The Musician's Guide to the Road: A Survival Handbook & All-Access Backstage Pass to Touring by
Call Number: ML3795. V64 2007
Publication Date: 2007-10-30
The Musician's Guide to the Road covers touring from the perspective of a music business insider. Author Susan Volez is a professional musician who spends half her time travelling from city to city and show to show. With considerable humour, the author combines a commonsense approach to life on the road with a musician's memories of the experience, culled from journals she's kept over many years. This is a book every young musician will want to read from cover to cover.
Sing for Your Supper: a DIY Guide to Playing Music, Writing Songs, and Booking Your Own Gigs by
Call Number: Available as an E-Book
Publication Date: 2008-07-01
Succinct and to the point, David Rovics demystifies the very different skills necessary to cultivate the arts of songwriting, guitar-playing and tour booking. In an era when the truly independent record label is virtually a thing of the past, Rovics explains how it's possible to make a living as a recording artist without a label. At a time when the corporate record industry is suing music fans for sharing music, Rovics explains why the internet is good for independent artists and how to utilize its potential.
Learn to Speak Music: A Guide to Creating, Performing, & Promoting Your Songs by
Call Number: ML3795. C76 2009
Publication Date: 2009-10-01
For something so familiar, music remains mysterious to many of us, to the point where our favorite musicians are more like magicians than everyday people. But the truth is, the world of music-making is closer to all of us than ever before. Sometimes all that separates us from realizing the potential of our own musical creativity is a little extra know-how. Learn to Speak Music helps kids learn the simplicity of this universal language by exposing every nook and cranny of how music is made -- whether by the pros or by you! And it's about more than just picking up an instrument. From songwriting and artwork to shooting a video and setting up a practice space, every aspect of the world of popular music is explored. A long-time musician himself, writer John Crossingham uses his experience as a member of Juno award-winning collective Broken Social Scene to open doors normally closed. A vet of several world tours and many albums recorded both at home and in pro studios, he's also brought along the expert opinions of a cavalcade of other musicians including Feist, Buck 65, Metric's Emily Haines, and many more. Features include tips on buying your first instrument, getting the most out of your playing, setting up your own gig, hints for better songwriting, secrets of home recording, a guide to making your own video with MTVA-nominated director Christopher Mills, and much more! Whether for a seasoned young musician or merely the curious pop culture vulture, Learn to Speak Music is a chance for kids to see the world of music as never before.
Beyond Sound: The College and Career Guide in Music Technology by
Call Number: Available as an E-Book
Publication Date: 2013-06-12
Beyond Sound: The College and Career Guide in Music Technology is a must-read for anyone who loves music technology and wants to build a career in this competitive, fast-paced and exciting world. It is an outstanding resource for college and high school students, high school career centers,university placement centers, and libraries.Beyond Sound reflects on major technological advancements in recent history and explains why now is the ideal time to start a music technology career. An in-depth consideration of music technology education looks at over 200 schools that offer Music Technology, Music Recording, Music Industry, andMusic Business programs. Beyond Sound considers the differences between BM, BS, BA, and BFA degrees as well as Graduate School, Trade School, and Art school programs. The reader is given the tools to research and make informed decisions about where to go to pursue their own formal music technologyeducation.Beyond Sound provides practical guidance on career preparation, including how to get a great internship, how to land that first job, and how to make connections and move up in the business. Music technology jobs in recording, live sound, television and film, digital media, video games, retail sales,and education are described in great depth and clarity. Successful professionals in each of these fields share their stories, experiences, advice, and suggestions in candid interviews that provide the reader with a rare glimpse inside the professional world of music technology.Author Scott L. Phillips draws on his seventeen-year career as a technology trainer and educator, his scholarly research of music technology programs, and his extensive network of music technology professionals to bring the reader an intimate and accurate view of the exciting world of musictechnology. With this book, the aspiring music technologist will be able to learn about, prepare for, and begin a successful career that goes far Beyond Sound.
The 11 Contracts That Every Artist, Songwriter, and Producer Should Know by
Call Number: ML3795. G744A15 2017
Publication Date: 2017-02-01
(Book). Most people regard legal contracts with an inherent suspicion. Having heard scores of horror stories, we in the music business, whether artists, songwriters, producers, or management, are especially cautious perhaps even paranoid of any binding agreement, and with good reason. If you could better understand the most common and important documents in the game, wouldn't you? Steve Gordon, an entertainment attorney with over twenty years of experience in the industry, is making just such an offer with his latest book, The 11 Contracts That Every Artist, Songwriter, and Producer Should Know. The 11 Contracts is an in-depth guide intended to assist any aspirant wary of navigating the music biz or struggling to interpret its insular jargon. This no-nonsense book follows a refreshingly simple format: Gordon presents a sample agreement, then breaks down the nuances of both the legal and business sides of the arrangement. Subjects covered include: * Management Agreements * Production Company and New Artist * Indie Label Deals * Sync Licenses * Producer Agreements * Music Publishing Deals * Composer Agreements * Live Performance Contracts * Music Video Production Contracts * Band Agreements Business Actions Artists Can Take Without an Attorney * Investment Agreements Every purchase also includes access to a library of streaming and downloadable video content touching on music clearances and licensing, management, artist, publishing, and producer agreements, the art of hiring a music attorney, the role of artist management and record companies in the music business today, and more. Ensure that you will never find yourself stuck on the wrong side of a bad deal pick up your copy of The 11 Contracts today!
Wisdom for a Young Musician by
Call Number: ML3795. W37 2007
Publication Date: 2007-04-03
If only you could sit at the feet of giants and receive their wisdom. What course might you chart for your career as a result? This book gives musicians of all ages and levels a chance to find out, whether they’re still in grade school or out trying their luck on the stages of the world. More than 75 famous musicians-including T-Bone Burnett, Sting, Sarah McLachlan, Lucinda Williams, and Elvis Costello-as well as industry professionals present personal advice that reveal their struggles, inspirations, successes, and overall experience of a life in music. The book features a wide variety of touching and practical wisdom on starting out, performing, writing music, touring, playing in bands, finding inspiration, partying in a drinks-and-drugs culture and, if the fates allow, handling fame.
Music Business Resources
Music Business Essentials by
Call Number: ML3790. C17M87 2018
Publication Date: 2018-10-22
The music business is an exciting, rewarding, confounding, treacherous, and exhilarating way in which to make a living. For those interested in following their dreams to enter this dynamic and ever-changing industry, nothing less than a road map is needed to navigate and strategize the journey. Music Business Essentials will take musicians and beginning business students on a journey which imparts not only vital "nuts and bolts" information about the business of music, but provides inspirational and practical tips from a veteran traveler who has successfully navigated his own music business path to success for over 25 years. This book is the perfect, easy-to-read introduction to the music industry and will be an invaluable handbook for reference time and again.
Music Business Handbook and Career Guide by
Call Number: ML3795.B33 1995
Publication Date: 1995-05-15
The new edition of this classic text retains its tradition as the most comprehensive, up-to-date guide to the music industry in the United States. Richly illustrated, the volume includes complete coverage of all aspects of the music business including songwriting, publishing, copyright, production, artist management, promotion and retailing. There is a detailed section on careers in the music industry with specific advice on getting started in the business and directories of professional organizations.
Music Entrepreneurship by
Call Number: Available as an E-Book
Publication Date: 2015-12-17
The music industries hinge on entrepreneurship. The recent, rapid convergence of media and the parallel ongoing evolution of music businesses have again seen the focus shift to independent companies and individual entrepreneurs. Opportunities tend not to be advertised in professional music and practically everyone begins on their own: forming a band, starting a record label, running events, or building a website. But it's not an easy territory to navigate or get a handle on. Music Entrepreneurship features an analysis of the changing landscape of the music industries and the value of the entrepreneur within them through a series of focused chapters and case studies. Alongside contributions from key academics across the globe, expert contributors from across the industry highlight successful entrepreneurs and offers practical help to the reader trying to navigate the business. Sectors examined include: The value of the music industries Recorded music Live events Branding in music Artist management Digital distribution
Inside the Music Business by
Call Number: Available as an E-Book
Publication Date: 2003-09-02
This book is a comprehensive guide to a career in the music industry. Offering advice as to how to get into the business, it explains the main features of a wide range of jobs, such as management, production, promotion and merchandise through to the working lives of recording artists and session musicians.
The Future of the Music Business by
Call Number: ML3790. G67F88 2015
Publication Date: 2015-07-01
(Music Pro Guides). New technologies have revolutionized the music business. While these technologies have wreaked havoc on traditional business models, they've also provided new opportunities for music business entrepreneurs, as well as new challenges for musicians, recording artists, songwriters, record labels and music publishers. The Future of the Music Business provides a road map for success by explaining legal fundamentals including copyright law's application to the music business, basic forms of agreement such as recording, songwriting and management contracts, PLUS the rules pertaining to digital streaming, downloading and Internet radio. This book also shows exactly how much money is generated by each of these models, and details how the money flows to the principal stakeholders: artists, record labels, songwriters and music publishers. Part I is a comprehensive analysis of the laws and business practices applying to today's music business Part II is a guide for producers on how to clear music for almost any kind of project including movies, TV, ad campaigns, stand-alone digital projects AND how much it will cost Part III presents new discussions on the hottest industry controversies including net neutrality; and the financial battles between the new digital music services & copyright owners and artists Part IV discusses how to best use the new technologies to succeed The book contains URLs linking to 2 on-line videos: Fundamentals of Music Business and Law, and Anatomy of a Copyright Infringement Case. Attorneys can use a password to gain 2 CLE credits.
Marketing and Promotion
Music Marketing for the DIY Musician by
Call Number: ML3790. B679M87 2014
Publication Date: 2014-08-01
(Music Pro Guides). There has never been a greater need for practical DIY marketing advice from a musician who has been there and succeeded than now at a time when new technologies make it more possible than ever for musicians to attract attention independently and leverage their own careers, and record industry professionals look exclusively for developed artists who are already successful. Written by a professional musician for other musicians, Music Marketing for the DIY Musician is a proactive, practical, step-by-step guide to producing a fully integrated, customized, low-budget plan of attack for artists marketing their own music. In a conversational tone, it reveals a systematic business approach employing the same tools and techniques used by innovative top companies, while always encouraging musicians to stay true to their artistic integrity. It's the perfect blend of left-brain and right-brain marketing. This book is the culmination of the author's 25 years in the trenches as a musician and entrepreneur, and over a decade in academic and practical research involving thousands of independent artists and marketing experts from around the world. The goal is to help musical artists take control of their own destiny, save money and time, and eventually draw the full attention of top music industry professionals. It's ultimately about making music that matters and music that gets heard!
Social Media Promotion for Musicians 2nd Edition by
Call Number: ML3790. O97B63 2017
Publication Date: 2017-01-17
Stop the confusion about how to use social media to promote your band, your music, and yourself with the Second Edition of Social Media Promotion For Musicians. This completely revised and updated book reveals a host of online insider tips and techniques that will help you gain more fans and followers, increase your views and streams, and grow your ticket and merch sales. If you're an artist, band, engineer, producer or songwriter, Social Media Promotion for Musician Second Edition provides the latest techniques and strategies to increase your online presence on all the important platforms more effectively and efficiently than you ever thought possible. You'll Discover: How to maximize your online exposure to increase your fan base How to have more time for creating by saving at least an hour each day on social media posting, and with better results Exclusive Facebook, YouTube, Instagram and Twitter promotional tips that will boost your streams, views and followers How to uncover and develop your personal or band's brand The secret behind successful posts and tweets for maximum engagement Which social media platforms require your attention now and which can wait How to get placement on Spotify and Apple Music playlists And much more Social Media Promotion For Musicians Second Edition covers how to promote yourself on the following platforms: Facebook YouTube Instagram Twitter Websites Newsletters Blogs Playlists Even LinkedIn
Ruthless Self-Promotion in the Music Industry by
Call Number: ML3795. F57 2006
Publication Date: 2005-11-01
Despite the ever-changing nature of the music industry, one constant remains: you must become a ruthless promotion fanatic to achieve success. There are no quick fixes or shortcuts to fame and fortune in the music business. But if you truly desire success and are dedicated to putting your time, energy, money, patience, and talent to the task, you can achieve the notoriety you desire...if you learn the art of ruthless self-promotion. 'Ruthless Self-Promotion in the Music Industry, Second Edition' is not a book about how to compose, play, or produce music; it's the key to the magic forumula for building your music career, reaching your goals, and achieving what you want, need, and feel you deserve. Effective promotion is a journey that never ends, and you will find yourself returning to this comprehensive, up-to-date reference again and again as you pursue your musical goals.
Crowdfunding for Musicians by
Call Number: ML3795. M32C76 2019
Publication Date: 2019-09-01
(Berklee Guide). Crowdfund your music career! Use Kickstarter, Patreon, Indiegogo, and other crowdfunding tools to connect to your fan base and run a successful fundraising campaign. Mobilize your fans to support your next album, tour, video, or other music project, or to create a steady fan-sourced income stream to support your career as a musician. Develop effective strategies for successful campaigns, including timing, networking, press relations, reward levels, and more. You will learn not only how to increase your income, but generally to optimize your career and art while connecting with your fan base. Interviews with artists and industry insiders offer real-world stories and practical advice. Whether you have a label, manager, and large fan base, or just want to record your very first music, this book will help you achieve success as an independent artist.