Skip to main content

Annotated Bibliographies: Sample APA Annotation

This guide provides examples, links, and explanations to help you create an annotated bibliography. Examples are currently Chicago style and American Psychological Association (APA).

American Psychological Association (APA) Annotations

Creating an annotated bibliography in APA style

Here is a link to information about APA 6th edition or here

The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association 5th edition (APA Manual) is summarized online is kept behind the Circulation counter of the John E. Robbins Library: Reserve BF76.7.A46 

This example is based on the APA style guide, but your instructor might give you other formatting instructions

 

General guidelines

Some annotations are merely descriptive, summarizing the authors' qualifications, research methods, and arguments. 

Many annotations evaluate the quality of scholarship in a book or article.  You might want to consider the logic of authors' arguments, and the quality of their evidence.  Your findings can be positive, negative, or mixed.

Your professor might also want you to explain why the source is relevant to your assignment. 

 

Sample Page: APA-formatted annotated bibliography

Child Poverty: An Annotated Bibliography                    

Battle, K. (2007). Child poverty: The evolution and impact of child benefits. In Covell, K., & Howe, R. B. (Eds), A question of commitment: Children's rights in Canada (pp. 21-44). Waterloo, ON: Wilfrid Laurier University Press.

            Ken Battle draws on his research as an extensively-published policy analyst, and a close study of some government documents, to explain child benefits in Canada.  He outlines some fundamental assumptions supporting the belief that all society members should contribute to the upbringing of children.  His comparison of Canadian child poverty rates to those in other countries provides a useful wake-up to anyone assuming Canadian society is doing a good job of protecting children from want.  He pays particular attention to the National Child Benefit (NCB), arguing that it did not deserve the criticism it received from politicians and journalists.  He outlines the NCB’s development, costs, and benefits, including its dollar contribution to a typical recipient’s income.  He laments that the Conservative government scaled back the program in favour of the Universal Child Care Benefit (UCCB), and clearly explains why it is inferior.  However, Battle relies too heavily on his own work; he is the sole or primary author of almost half the sources in his bibliography.  He could make this work stronger by drawing from the perspectives of others' analyses.  However, Battle does offer a valuable source for this essay, because the chapter provides a concise overview of government-funded assistance currently available to parents. This offers context for analyzing the scope and financial reality of child poverty in Canada.

Kerr, D., & Beaujot, R. (2003). Child poverty and family structure in Canada, 1981-1997. Journal of Comparative Family Studies, 34(3), 321-335.

            Sociology professors Kerr and Beaujot analyze the demographics of impoverished families.  Drawing on data from Canada’s annual Survey of Consumer Finances, the authors consider whether each family had one or two parents, the age of single parents, and the number of children in each household.  They analyze child poverty rates in light of these demographic factors, as well as larger 

Rules! rules! rules!

The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (5th Ed.) states the following formatting rules:

  • The text and the reference list should be double-spaced.
  • Numbering starts on the title page, at the top right of the page.
  • Reference list entries must have a hanging indent (to do this in Microsoft Word 2003, click Format, then Paragraph, then Special, and choose Hanging).
  • There should be 1 inch (2.54 cm) margins all around (top, bottom, left, and right) on each page.
  • Use Times Roman font, or a similar serif font.
  • Each paragraph should be indented.

Subject Guide

Rainer Schira's picture
Rainer Schira
Contact:
204-727-7688

More Sample Annotations

The University of Toronto offers an example that illustrates how to summarize a study's research methods and argument.

Cornell University Library offers these examples of both APA and MLA format descriptive bibliographies.

Your thoughts?

I find this guide

Your thoughts?
Really helpful: 189 votes (42.19%)
Sort of helpful: 42 votes (9.38%)
Could be better: 8 votes (1.79%)
Didn't help me at all: 209 votes (46.65%)
Total Votes: 448