BU Library QuickLinks
What's New?
Also check out the "New & Noteworthy" section of this guide under the Welcome tab (top of page).
Government Documents
Who we are and what we do.
The Government Documents Collection, includes (but is certainly not limited to) Federal and Provincial Statutes, StatsCanada and Census Information, Royal Commissions, Departmental Annual and Financial Reports, and House of Commons and Senate publications. We are located in the North Stacks area of the library.
To find us, go up the main staircase, head north; you'll find the collection on the left hand side. Our office is the glassed in area by the "Pamphlet File" filing cabinets. Please feel free to drop in for help locating materials or starting your research.
Government Documents may be found in the Main and Government Documents collection. Items from the Government Documents area are available for "In Library" use only (this means that they cannot be signed out by students or the public, but can be used and photocopied in the library. Generally, non-circulating items are identified by a yellow dot on the cover or spine.) Items from the Main library collection can be signed out at the circulation desk.
Locating Government Documents
As a partial federal and provincial depository library, we continually add to our collection of both Federal and Provincial government resources. A great starting point for locating new additions to our collection is the library catalog.
Catalog searching tips:
When searching the catalog for government documents, there are a few things to keep in mind.
- When searching, try using the names of specific Departments (ie. Department of Defence), keeping in mind that department names can change over time.
- Not all government documents are indexed in the library's online catalog. This does not mean that you cannot use them, but that you may need assistance in locating them, as they are organized differently. Please stop by the government documents office for more information.
- When searching for Aboriginal or First Nations government materials, also try Indian or Northern Affairs (as many publications will still reference previous department titles). Also see the ***Instruction Session Reminders*** section of this guide for more information.
For more search tips and answers to Frequently Asked Questions, please see the "Help!" section of this guide.
Items found in the catalog will be located in either the Reference collection (Main Floor), Main Collection (Upstairs), North Stacks (Upstairs), Pamphlet File (North Stacks), Music Library (via the North Stacks), Government Documents (North Stacks) or online (link provided via online catalog).
Also, check out the New Books section of the library homepage for items that have recently been acquired by the library.
Hi there! |
Contact Info Gov Docs Office Second Floor - North Stacks Monday - Friday 8:30 - 12:30 1:00 - 5:00 You can get help with your research, ask us how! Links: Profile & Guides |



Loading...
