2SLGBTQIA+ Browsable shelf areas by Library of Congress Classification: Home

Browsing the shelves at the John E. Robbins Library for 2SLGBTQIA+ and Gender Diverse Resources:

The main collection begins on the west side of the Second Floor, with call numbers beginning with A, and goes to call numbers ending in PT section on the east side of the Second Floor.

Note: GV call numbers and the L’s are located on the First Floor. The M's are in the Music Library. PZ's (Children and Teen Fiction) are on the First Floor. 

There is also an Indigenous Curriculum Collection located on the First Floor of the library.

Call numbers from PT to Z are in the North Stacks.

If you need help finding a call number area, or locating something in the Library, please ask at the Circulation Desk on the First Floor.

BF = Psychology

• BF 692.2+   Sex role. Sex differences (psychology)

• BF 1571.5.G39   Gay people - witchcraft

BL = Religions, Mythology, Rationalism

• BL 65.h64   Homosexuality and religion
• BL 325.b45   Androgyny – comparative mythology
• BL 1215.s49   Gender identity; Homosexuality – religious aspects - Hinduism

BM = Judaism

• BM 729.h65   Homosexuality, gay people, lesbians - Judaism

BP = Islam. Bahai faith. Theosophy, etc.

• BP 188.14.h65   Homosexuality - Islam
• BP 190.5.s4   Sexuality - Islam

BR = Christianity

• BR115.h6   Christianity and homosexuality

BS = The Bible

• BS 680.h67   Bible - homosexuality
• BS 680.s53   Bible - sex role
• BS 1238.h66   Homosexuality – Old Testament
• BS 2545.h63   Homosexuality – New Testament
• BS 2545.s37   Sex role – New Testament

BT = Doctrinal Theology

• BT 707.6   Same-sex marriage

BV = Practical Theology

• BV 4437.5   Sexual minorities – Gay people -- Pastoral counseling of -- United States – History (ex-gay movement)

BX = Christian Denominations

• BX 1795.h66   Catholic Church – homosexuality. Gay rights.
• BX 8643.h65   Mormons. Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints - homosexuality

E = History of America

• E98.s48   Indigenous Peoples - North America – Gay and lesbian people. Two spirited people

G = Geography

• GN 479.65   Anthropology – Sex roles (gender)
• GN 484.3   Ethnology. Social and cultural anthropology – adulthood – sexual behavior. Sex customs. (gender)

GV = Recreation. Leisure

• GV 708.8   Sports - Gay men. Lesbians. Transgender people
• GV 943.9.s 64M347 2017   Soccer – masculinity
• GV 1749.5   Social Dancing – Gay and lesbian dance parties, including drag balls.

HD = Industries, land use, labor

• HD 6285+   Employment - Sexual minorities - including individual groups, e.g. gay people, lesbians, transgender people.

HQ = The Family. Marriage. Women

• HQ 18.3+   Sexologists. Sexology
• HQ 18.5+   Human sexuality - sexual orientation
• HQ 18.55+   Human Sexuality - gender identity
• HQ 18.6   Human Sexuality - sexual attraction
• HQ 73+   Sexual minorities
• HQ 74+   Bisexuality
• HQ 75+   Queer theory. Homosexuality. Lesbianism
• HQ 75.25+   Gay and lesbian travel
• HQ 75.27+   Gay parents
• HQ 75.3+   Abused lesbians. Battered lesbians.
• HQ 75.5   Two-spirit people, lesbianism, homosexuality
• HQ 75.53   Lesbian mothers
• HQ 76   Gay men – general works
• HQ 76.1   Sex Instruction and sexual ethics – homosexual men
• HQ 76.13   Gay fathers
• HQ 76.2   Gay men – by region or country
• HQ 76.25   Homosexuality; Lesbianism – general works
• HQ 76.26   Homosexuality; Lesbianism – juvenile works
• HQ 76.27.a37   African Americans - homosexuality
• HQ 76.27.y68   Youth – homosexuality
• HQ 76.3   Homosexuality; Lesbianism – by region or country
• HQ 76.4   Homophobia. Heterosexism
• HQ 76.5   Gay rights movement. Gay liberation movement. General works
• HQ 76.8   Gay rights movement. Gay liberation movement. By region or country
• HQ 76.96+   Gay and lesbian culture
• HQ 76.965.g38   Gay pride parades
• HQ 77+   Cross-dressing. Transvestism. General works.
• HQ 77.7+   Transsexualism. Transgenderism.
• HQ 77.8   Transsexualism. Transgenderism. Individual biography.   
• HQ 77.9   Gender Identity. Gender nonconformity
• HQ 77.95   Transgender people
• HQ 77.97   Intersex people. Intersexuality
• HQ 1033+   Same-sex marriage
• HQ 1075+   Sex role (social aspects) – Sociology. Gender identity

HV = Social pathology. Social and public welfare. Criminology

• HV 875.72   Gay and lesbian adoption
• HV 1449   Protection, assistance, relief – Gay men. Lesbians
• HV 6250.4.h66   Victims of crimes – homosexuals; gay people
• HV 6250.4.s49   Victims of crimes – sexual minorities
• HV 6545.4   Suicide – gay people

JK = Political Institutions and Public Administration (United States)

• JK 723.h6   Civil Service – homosexual men and women

JV = Emigration and Immigration. International Migration

• JV 6346.5   Immigration – sexual minorities

JZ = International Relations

• JZ 1253.2   Gender theory and feminist theory in international relations

KD = Law of England and Wales

• KD 4142.r33d57   Asylum seekers. Sexual minorities – Legal status, laws, etc. – Great Britain

KE = Law of Canada

• KE 4382.g463   Gender identity; Sex discrimination – Law and legislation – Canada

KF = Law of the United States

• KF 539   Same sex marriage
• KF 3467.5   Discrimination in employment and its prevention – Sexual minorities – including gay people, lesbians, and transgender people.
• KF 4754.5   Civil and political rights and liberties – Sexual minorities – including gay people, lesbians, and transgender people

L = Education

• LB 2844.1.g39   Gay teachers
• LB 2844.1.s49   Sexual minority teachers, general works

• LC 192.6   Homosexuality in education
• LC 212.8+   Sex discrimination in education. Sexual harassment. Homophobia
• LC 2574+   Education of sexual minority students, including gay people, lesbians, bisexuals
• LC 2575+   Gender non-conforming youth – education – schools

M = Music

• M 1619.a723   Transgender singers
• ML 63.q44   Homosexuality and music; Gay musicians
• ML 102.g46   Gender in music (some titles here contain 2SLGBTQIA+ sections)
• ML 3524.h78   Homosexuality in country music
• ML 3534.L4   Gender identity in music
• ML 3797.4   Queer musicology
• MT 1.g24h66   Transgender youth – Music instruction and study
• MT 820.j33o54   Transgender people – voice, change of
• MT 820.s23q44 Transgender singers

N = Fine arts

• N 72.h64   Homosexuality and art
• N 8217.h67   Homosexuality in art
• NX 180.h6   Homosexuality and the arts - arts in general
• NX 652.g38   Gay artists. Lesbian artists

PN = Literature (General)

• PN 56.h57   Homosexuality, including male homosexuality, in literature – General literary history.
• PN 56.s52   Sex differences in literature – literary history
• PN 491.3   Gay authors - general literary history
• PN 1590.g39   Gay people in the performing arts, showbusiness

• PN 1992.8.h64   Homosexuality - television broadcasts
• PN 1992.8.s45   Sexual minorities – television broadcasts
• PN 1995.9.g35   Gay pornographic films
• PN 1995.9.h55   Homosexuality, including male homosexuality, gay men - in motion pictures.
• PN 1995.9.s47   Sex role, gender, in motion pictures
• PN 2270.g39   Gay theatre – United States – Twentieth century
• PN 2270.L47   Lesbian theatre
• PN 2286.5   Gay actors and actresses – United States - biography
• PN 3352.h65   Homosexuality in literature – prose
• PN 4888.g38   Gay parents & children of gay parents – journalism – United States
• PN 4888.h65   Homophobia – journalism – United states
• PN 4888.h66   Homosexuality – journalism – United States
• PN 6071.h724   Homosexuality in literature – General collections.
• PN 6071.L47   Lesbians in literature – General collections
• PN 6084.g35   Gay people in literature – quotations – English
• PN 6084.L45   Lesbians in literature – quotations - English
• PN 6109.95.a75   Asexual people as authors – poetry
• PN 6110.h65   Homosexuality in literature – poetry
• PN 6120.g34   Gay men in literature - drama
• PN 6231.h57   Homosexuality in literature – wit and humor
• PN 6231.L43   Lesbians in literature – wit and humor

PQ = French, Italian, Spanish and Portuguese Literature

• PQ 637.h65   Homosexuality in literature – French literary history – prose fiction

PR = English Literature

• PR 120.g38+   Gay authors – English literary history
• PR 149.l47   Lesbianism in literature – English literary history
• PR 275.g44   Gender identity in literature – English literary history – Medieval. Middle English (1066-1500)
• PR 408.h65   Homosexuality in literature – English literary history – Modern period
• PR 428.g43   Gender identity in literature – English literary history – Elizabethan era (1550-1640)
• PR 428.h66   Homosexuality in literature – English literary history – Elizabethan era (1550-1640)
• PR 468.h65   Homosexuality in literature – English literary history – 19^th century
• PR 830.g34   Gay men in literature – English literary history – Fiction
• PR 830.l46   Lesbians in literature – English literary history – Fiction
• PR 1111.h57   Homosexuality in literature – English Collections
• PR 1933.h66   Homosexuality in literature – English literature – Chaucer, Geoffrey – Canterbury Tales – Criticism

PS = American Literature

• PS 153.g38   Gay authors – American literary history
• PS 153.s39   Sexual minorities as authors – American literary history
• PS 169.h65   Homosexuality in literature – American literary history
• PS 217.h65   Homosexuality in literature – American literary history – 19^th century
• PS 228.l47   Lesbianism in literature – American literary history – 20^th century
• PS 310.h66   Homosexuality in literature – American literary history – Poetry
• PS 374.h63   Homosexuality in literature – American literary history – Prose fiction
• PS 509.h57   Homosexuality in literature - American literary history – Collections
• PS 509.l47   Lesbianism in literature – American Collections
• PS 648.h57   Homosexuality in literature – American Collections – Prose
• PS 648.l47   Lesbianism in literature – American Collections – Prose

Q = Science

• QP 81.5   Sex differences; Gender identity
• QP 84.4   Teenagers - growth and physiology – comic books

R = Medicine

• RA 564.87   Lesbians – Public health
• RA 564.9.   Sexual and gender minorities – Public health
• RC 451.4.g39   Gay men and Lesbians – Mental health
• RC 883   Intersexuality – social aspects, psychological aspects

Z = Libraries. Bibliographies

• Z 695.a25c78   Library Science. Information Science – cataloguing – sexual minorities