Skip to main content

Religious Studies Research Guide: Primary Sources

Introduction to important research tools in the field of Religious Studies. Includes links to (1) Encyclopedias and Dictionaries, (2) important Databases in the Field and (3) tutorials on how to search different databases.

BU Library QuickLinks

Accessing Primary Sources from Home

 

If you are a student or faculty member at Brandon University, you can access primary sources from off campus.

If you are accessing the library's web site from off campus, most links on the library's web site will first take you to the Proxy Authentication Page, where you can log in with your Brandon University username and password. Once you have logged in, you will be taken to the destination of the link. You should only have to log in once per session.

To log in, you will need your Brandon University username and password - the same username and password you use to log into the Brandon University network when you're on campus. If you have not claimed your username and password or you are having trouble logging in with those, you should contact the Brandon University Help Desk (Phone 571-8500 Monday -Friday 8:30AM to 4:30PM).

For more information, see the Off-Campus Access Page

Primary Sources

The Brandon University Library and Brandon University Archives provide access to a range of primary sources of possible use to people studying the role of Religion in past societies.  Listed below are collections that consist of documents, pamphlets, diaries, letters, images maps and historical newspapers useful for Religious Studies papers written with Primary Sources.

Contact

Carmen Kazakoff-Lane's picture
Carmen Kazakoff-Lane
Contact:
Carmen Kazakoff -Lane, Scholarly Communications Librarian
John E. Robbins Library - ( LB 2-19 )
270-18th Street
Brandon, Manitoba
R7A 6A9

Ph: (204) 727-7483

VIDEOCONFERENCING:
*Microsoft Meetings: Kazakoff@brandonu.ca
*Zoom Invite to Kazakoff@brandonu.ca


Website Skype Contact: Kazakofflane

S.J. McKee Archives

The S.J. McKee Archives holds a wide range of historical documents related to history in the Westman area of Manitoba. 

Researchers wishing to use its collections can visit it from 1:00-4:30 P.M. Monday-Friday (with the exception of Statutory Holidays.)