Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The library has lots of resources for people doing research in the area of Religious Studies. This guide will point out the ones that I think will be most useful in helping you do research.
If you have any ideas about how to make this guide better, please get in contact with me (my contact information is just to the right).
, Business Administration
, Classical and Modern Languages
, English and Creative Writing
, Gender and Women’s Studies
, Native Studies
, Political Science
, Rural Development
, Visual and Aboriginal Art
Introduction to Research Tools in Religious Studies
A good place to start your research is by using an Encyclopedia or Dictionary to learn more about your topic. When you do so, you will not only understand the topic better, you will also be given some ideas about important terms that you can use in your research. Once you have a better understanding about your topic, you can then look for books and articles. They will likely be the most important resources you use in your research.
To find Books use the library catalog.
To find Journal Articles use a database.
While this guide has separate sections providing more detail about specific tools, some of the most highly used tools for Religious Studies are listed below:
BU Library Catalogue
Search the library catalog for books, journals, and online links
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials PLUS (EbscoHOST)
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials PLUS (Atlas PLUS) combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with Atla’s largest collection of full text religion and theology journals. AtlasPLUS contains more than 600 full text titles, including all AtlaSerials (Atlas) titles. Coverage: 1949-
America: History and Life with Full Text (EbscoHOST)
Comprehensive index to journals, articles in books, and dissertations in the field of history.
JSTOR Journals Collection
Includes more than 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published.
Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) Collection
Makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles. - Coverage: 1802-1995
Videos to get you started
Pre-recorded videos for class instruction
Class: 69:457 Introduction to Health Research Methods
Class: 36/90:266 Families and Society
Searching in SocIndex
38 minute video with Marian Ramage on searching for sociological academic sources in the SocIndex database.
Searching in JSTOR
28 minute video with Marian Ramage on searching the JSTOR database.
Searching in EbscoHost
19 minute video with Marian Ramage on searching the databases Academic Search Premier; and LGBTQ+ in EbscoHost