Biology EncyclopediasComputer Science EncyclopediasGeography EncyclopediasGeology EncyclopediasPhysics EncyclopediasPsychology Encyclopedias
Anthropology EncyclopediasArcheology EncyclopediasEconomics EncyclopediasGender & Women's Studies EncyclopediasHistory EncyclopediasPolitical Science EncyclopediasSociology Encyclopedias
Fine Arts EncyclopediasMusic EncyclopediasPerforming Arts Encyclopedias
Literature EncyclopediasPhilosophy EncyclopediasReligion Encyclopedias
This is the "Home" page of the "Encyclopedias" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Encyclopedias  

Last Updated: May 28, 2010 URL: http://libguides.brandonu.ca/encyclopedias Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Off-Campus Access

Accessing Databases from Home

If you are a student or faculty member at Brandon University, you can access databases from off campus.

If you are accessing the library's web site from off campus, most links on the library's web site will first take you to the Proxy Authentication Page, where you can log in with your Brandon University username and password. Once you have logged in, you will be taken to the destination of the link. You should only have to log in once per session.

To log in, you will need your Brandon University username and password - the same username and password you use to log into the Brandon University network when you're on campus. If you have not claimed your username and password or you are having trouble logging in with those, you should contact the Brandon University Help Desk (Phone 571-8500 Monday -Friday 8:30AM to 4:30PM).

For more information, see the Off-Campus Access Page

General Encyclopedias

Yeah, I know, there's always Wikipedia, or a web search (Google you know, WolframAlpha is worth a try), but here are a collection of encyclopedias where you can start your research.

I don't know what the difference between a dictionary and an encyclopedia is. The standard answer is that a dictionary definition is much shorter than an encyclopedia entry. I think of the distinction as arbitrary, especially in an online world where space isn't at a premium.

  • Britannica Concise Encyclopedia  
    Rating
    Has comprehensive coverage on a variety of subjects including, arts, business, geography, history, literature, philosophy, politics, pop culture, science, sports, and more.
  • Columbia Encyclopedia  
    Rating
    Provides authoritative factual information about our world in its many guises - physical, historical, geographical, political, scientific, religious, and cultural.
  • Crystal Reference Encyclopedia  
    Rating
    Contains many thousands of entries, ranging from absolute zero to zorilla.
  • Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia  
    Rating
    This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.
  • Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia with Atlas and Weather guide  
    Rating
    Provides an authoritative insight into the worlds of science & technology, history, geography, politics, and the arts.
  • Macmillan Encyclopedia  
    Rating
    Covers the world spectrum of human knowledge, including science and technology, countries of the world, space, natural history, medicine, politics, sport, people, literature, art and history.
  • Philip's Encyclopedia 2008  
    Rating
    has entries in these useful sections: Identification Guide (Stars and Planets, Human Body, Mammals, Birds, Butterflies, Trees) A-Z Encyclopedia (from Aachen to Gennady Zyuganov), History of the World, and Ready Reference.
  • Science in the Contemporary World: An Encyclopedia  
    Rating
    Details the scientific achievements of the contemporary world and analyzing the key scientific trends, discoveries, and personalities of the modern age.

Chris Hurst

Profile Image
Chris Hurst
Logo - Google Talk
Contact Info
727-9687
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip