Skip to Main Content

Encyclopedias: Science Encyclopedias

Like Wikipedia But Written By Experts

BU Library QuickLinks

Library Home Page
The home page of the John E. Robbins Library
BU One Stop Search
Search the library catalog for books, journals, and online links
BU Journal List
The list of journals that Brandon University students and faculty have access to
BU Database List
The list of databases that Brandon University students and faculty have access to.

Online General Science Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Life
A glitzy Wikipedia-like project that aims to create a web page for every species on Earth.

Oxford Research Encyclopedia - Natural Hazard Science
The Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Natural Hazard Science will contribute effectively to enhance the knowledge and use of science, technology, research findings and innovation for natural hazards understanding, and management for disaster risk reduction and reinforcement of the resilience of communities.

Science, Technology, and Society: An Encyclopedia
ISBN: 0195141938
Emphasizing an interdisciplinary and international coverage of the functions and effects of science and technology in society and culture, Science, Technology, and Society contains over 130 A to Z signed articles written by major scholars and experts from academic and scientific institutions and institutes worldwide.

Subject Guide

He, him

Email Me

Subjects: Applied Disaster and Emergency Studies, Biology, Chemistry, Environmental Science, Faculty - Science, Geography, Geology, Mathematics and Computer Science, Physics and Astronomy, Psychology