Skip to main content

Political Science Research Guide: Finding Journal Articles

Provides and introduction to key resources used when looking for research materials in the field of Political Science

BU Library QuickLinks

Accessing Databases from Home


If you are a student or faculty member at Brandon University, you can access databases from off campus.

If you are accessing the library's web site from off campus, most links on the library's web site will first take you to the Proxy Authentication Page, where you can log in with your Brandon University username and password. Once you have logged in, you will be taken to the destination of the link. You should only have to log in once per session.

To log in, you will need your Brandon University username and password - the same username and password you use to log into the Brandon University network when you're on campus. If you have not claimed your username and password or you are having trouble logging in with those, you should contact the Brandon University Help Desk (Phone 571-8500 Monday -Friday 8:30AM to 4:30PM).

For more information, see the Off-Campus Access Page

Finding Journal Articles

A journal is like a magazine except that the articles in it are written by researchers and have been checked by other scholars in a process called peer review. Journal articles are where important new research is found.

The tool you will need to use to locate articles is known as a Database.  The library subscribes to many databases, and you can learn which ones are the most appropriate for your research by selecting the Databases Tab above.

Many of our databases have full-text in them - or links to full-text and Inter-Library Loans via a Get It Button.   Many also cite articles found in books or hardcover journals in our library. 

To learn if the library owns an electronic or hardcover journal cited in a database (that was not found using the Get It Button)  go to the library's Journal List and enter the name of the Journal in the search box. 

To determine whether the library owns a Book or Dissertation cited in a database, check the Library Catalog.

To learn more about Databases watch the video below!  It can be expanded to full-screen.

Learn all about Peer Review

This Video: Peer Review in Five Minutes, provides people with a good explanation of the topic and how it fits into the world of scholarly research.

Contact

Carmen Kazakoff-Lane's picture
Carmen Kazakoff-Lane
Contact:
Carmen Kazakoff -Lane, Scholarly Communications Librarian
John E. Robbins Library - ( LB 2-19 )
270-18th Street
Brandon, Manitoba
R7A 6A9

Ph: (204) 727-7483

VIDEOCONFERENCING:
*Microsoft Meetings: Kazakoff@brandonu.ca
*Zoom Invite to Kazakoff@brandonu.ca


Website Skype Contact: Kazakofflane

Interlibrary Loans

Interlibrary Loans

Interlibrary loans (ILL) provides access to journal articles, books and other itemsunavailable through the library. The service is available to all students, staff and faculty, is usually free and can take anywhere from a few days to a few weeks, depending on the library supplying us.

ILLs can be submitted to us via various Databases, as well as via our Online Forms (for information on how this is done see our ILL Flash Tutorial.). In either case, you will need to use your Brandon University ILL account to do so.

For more information, see the Interlibrary Loan page.