Political Science Research Guide: Political Science Databases (General)

Consult any one of the following databases to get articles dealing with Political History, Politics and Political Scientists:

• America: History and Life
  Useful  for historical Political Science Topics.  Indexes Canadian and American History Journals.  Use for topics like constitutional history.
   
• Canadian Reference Center
  Canadian Political Science issues. 
   
• EBSCOHost Academic Search Premier
  Interdisciplinary full-text database indexing many Political Science journals. Also has indexing for Newsmagazines which makes it useful for current events.
   
• Historical Abstracts
  As Historical Abstracts index history journal outside of North America, it is a useful tool for Political Science topics such as Historical Monarchies, Oligarchies, Theological Regimes, Marxist Regimes, Failed States, Nation Building, etc.
   
• JSTOR
  Searchable collection of periodicals in the Humanities and Social Sciences. 
   
• Periodical Archive Online
  Searchable collection of periodicals in the Humanities and Social Sciences.
   
• Project Muse
  Searchable collection of periodicals in the Humanities and Social Sciences.  As Periodical Archive Online and JSTOR are retrospective in coverage (usually 3-5 years and older) and Project Muse is current, it may contain the more recent titles not in the PAO or JSTOR.
   
• Web of Knowledge
  Interdisciplinary database that indexes the most widely respected periodicals in Academia.

After searching a Database, you may need to learn if an article cited is in a journal held by the library. 

To learn if the library owns the journal, search our Journal Titles List.

If a journal is not in our collection, you can still get the article via Inter-Library Loans.

If you are a student or faculty member at Brandon University, you can access databases from off campus.

If you are accessing the library's web site from off campus, most links on the library's web site will first take you to the Proxy Authentication Page, where you can log in with your Brandon University username and password. Once you have logged in, you will be taken to the destination of the link. You should only have to log in once per session.

To log in, you will need your Brandon University username and password - the same username and password you use to log into the Brandon University network when you're on campus. If you have not claimed your username and password or you are having trouble logging in with those, you should contact the Brandon University Help Desk (Phone 571-8500 Monday -Friday 8:30AM to 4:30PM).

For more information, see the Off-Campus Access Page