Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Indigenous Curriculum Collection (ICC): Home

An overview of the Indigenous Curriculum Collection (ICC)

Where is it? 

The Indigenous Curriculum Collection - is located on the Main Floor of the John E. Robbins Library at Brandon University.

Most of this collection is in physical format - in the Library - but some content is online as well.

What types of resources are in the ICC?

The collection includes:

  • Books shelved by call number
  • Indigenous Inquiry Kits - Books - on individual themes (collected into Kits and shelved by the Kit number) 
  • Classroom Reading Sets (multiple copies of the same book title to be used in a classroom setting)
  • DVDs
  • Audio Books
  • Music CDs
  • Puppets, Posters, Games, and other media & formats of educational materials.

Can anyone use the Collection?

Yes. The items in the ICC are shelved together in one area of the Library so that it's easy to browse the collection.  Access is not restricted. Anyone with borrowing privileges at the BU Library may sign out material from the ICC.

What is the purpose of the ICC?

The ICC contains two types of resources:

1. books, puzzles, games, puppets etc. that can be used by students in the BU Education faculty to support Indigenization of their lesson plans and teaching.  These materials could also be useful for community members and K-12 teachers in the Westman area.

Are all the items in the collection "children's books" - juvenile literature?

No. The collection does include children's books (books for children, or picture books), but also includes academic books, fiction for all ages, poetry, dvds, cds, kits (which may include books, charts, puppets, dvds, and other media). Some the books and other materials in this collection are duplicate copies of materials found elsewhere in the BU Library - for example, in the Main Collection. This means that if the title you want is signed out of the ICC, another copy may be available elsewhere in the BU Library. If you need help with finding material please ask for assistance.

I don't have time to browse this collection. Is the material in the ICC on the BU Library catalogue?

Yes. When you a search on the BU Library catalogue, materials from the ICC will be returned with your results. Note that the collection may not be searched separately on its own.

Is any of the material in the ICC available in a language other than English?

Yes. For example, Cree, Dakota, Ojibwa, and French are some of the languages represented.

Are there multiple copies of items within the ICC?

Sometimes yes. The same title might occur throughout the BU Library collection.  For instance, the book Fatty Legs by Christy Jordan-Fenton is shelved by its call number in the ICC, another copy is in the Indigenous Inquiry Kit #36 (Residential Schools) and nine copies are available in a classroom reading set (Kit # 632). 

Other links

Library Assistant

Profile Photo
Marian Ramage
she / her / hers
Contact:
I am available to meet with students and faculty members on Zoom, Teams, in person, or by phone:
204-727-9645
Subjects: Education, Reference

Librarian

Profile Photo
Rainer Schira
He/Him
Contact:
You can also reach me over Teams.
Or email me to set up a Zoom call.
204.727.7463