Music Library Guide: Career-Related Resources

How can young musicians best prepare for the real world? In a changing global marketplace and transformed music and creative sectors, in an age of information overload, what are the key issues and skills on which emerging artists need to focus? How have recent changes in the industry affected professional opportunities? With the linking theme of exploring one’s professional identity, this book is the only music career guide offering a truly international perspective, essential for creative professionals collaborating online with projects, colleagues and audiences worldwide. Leading authors from the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, Europe and Australia explore key issues for musicians: identity formation, lifelong learning, transitions into and between work, entrepreneurship, changing workplaces, and musicians’ connections with society. The authors’ contributions are enhanced by discussion of work opportunities, education and training in their respective countries, especially useful for musicians interested in study and work abroad. Practical information, perspectives and examples in Part I of the volume are complemented by the resources in Part II, written specifically for use with emerging musicians and those seeking career advice. Part II features practical exercises for career planning and exploration, for goal setting, and for developing networking and project management skills. The 35 reproducible tools are presented in an engaging format for use with individuals and groups. For people interested in music education and training, career planning, professional survival, and helping musicians realise their dreams of success, this book is an essential resource.

Make It is the only actionable career guide specifically tailored for conservatory-trained musicians. It was written in 2016 by a working bass player under 30, with a focus on the challenges unique to freshly minted music graduates. Topics include: How to Establish Credibility Managing Your Money Effectively Freelancing vs. Entrepreneurship Handling Taxes Staying Focused How To Network Effectively If College Is Actually Worth The Cost How To Become A Resilient Person Conquering Creative Obstacles Creating Opportunities Making A Lasting Impression What people have had to say about Make It: "Emilio Guarino, has written a very interesting book about his experiences as a 21st century musician. He covers topics that are rarely discussed, even between musicians."Dr. Thomas Schuttenhelm, Fulbright Scholar, Composer, Guitarist, and Hartt School Faculty. "I can't recommend this enough. I've read it cover to cover already. Emilio Guarino offers a truly great analysis of how to live and work in the music business in the 21st century. Whether you're a student, recent graduate or seasoned veteran it's worth a read."Dan Merriman, Bassist in the Reading Symphony Orchestra "It's not good for someone of a previous era to give advice out to young people, because it's so different now."Peter Donohoe, concert pianist (2015)

This book is a practical guide for young people around the world who wish to build a career as a professional musician. It is a useful resource that will help build a realistic professional vision, support development, and explicate what it takes to make a successful career. As well as providing lots of information, it offers practical tools and exercises to enable you to relate the information to your own situation, and to help realize your potential.

This is a detailed guide to a range of career possibilities in the world of music.

The Musician's Journey escorts musicians, performing artists, music teachers, and advanced music students along the road toward a successful career, offering a vast array of resources to guide them from envisioning the process to achieving the practical details. Jill Timmons provides key tools throughout the journey, from sources as diverse as the world of myth to current brain research, which illuminate compelling real-world examples of music entrepreneurs who forged their own paths to success. Included are chapters on careers in higher education; guidance in how to develop a business plan; general tips on grant writing and financial development; a separate section exploring the stories of other successful musicians; and personal narrative taken from the author's work as a professional musician and consultant. The book includes an extensive bibliography of additional resources, and the companion website offers downloadable worksheets and questionnaires to help readers along their way.

So you’re talented, well trained, and passionate about music. What next? The professional marketplace is flooded with outstanding musicians, forced to compete for a shrinking number of ""traditional"" opportunities. The Savvy Musician helps balance three overriding aspects of your professional musical life: (1) building a career, (2) earning a living, and (3) making a difference. Filled with clearly articulated concepts, detailed strategies, and 165 vignettes about actual musicians working to create a meaningful and prosperous career, this book examines critical elements often overlooked or misunderstood by musicians, and helps you take control of your career. Discover how to build an immediately recognizable ""brand,"" capitalize on technology—from Internet tools to the new recording paradigm, expand your network, and raise money to fund your dreams. The Savvy Musician is an invaluable resource for performers, composers, educators, students, administrators, industry employees, and others interested in a thriving musical future.

Is it possible to have a music teaching career that is meaningful, artistically fulfilling, and financially self-supporting? The Savvy Music Teacher unveils a clear, realistic, dollar-for-dollar blueprint for earning a steady income as a music teacher, increasing impact and incomesimultaneously. This comprehensive resource reveals an entrepreneurial process with lessons that cannot be found anywhere else. Armed with Cutler's expert guidance, readers will learn to develop:* A thriving studio with an important curriculum* Multiple income/impact streams* Innovation strategies for every aspect of business and art* Powerhouse marketing* Time management skills* Financial literacy and independence* An inspired career outlookA must-read for independent music teachers of all levels, both beginning and those with established studios, as well as the music performance graduates who so often become studio teachers, The Savvy Music Teacher provides practical advice in down-to-earth language that includes real-lifeexperiences from successful teacher-entrepreneurs.

This second edition of Beyond Talent provides user-friendly real-life advice, examples, and perspectives on how to further a career in music. Understanding the unique talents and training of musicians, veteran music career counselor Angela Myles Beeching presents a wealth of creative solutions for career advancement in the highly competitive music industry. Step-by-step instructions detail how to design promotional materials, book performances, network and access resources and assistance, jump start a stalled career, and expand your employment opportunities while remaining true to your music. Beeching untangles artist management and the recording industry, explains how to find and create performance opportunities, and provides guidance on grant writing and fundraising, day jobs, freelancing, and how to manage money, time, and stress. The companion website puts numerous up-to-date and useful internet resources at your fingertips. This essential handbook goes beyond the usual "how-to," helping musicians tackle the core questions about career goals, and create a meaningful life as a professional musician. Beyond Talent is the ideal companion for students and professionals, emerging musicians and mid-career artists.

If only you could sit at the feet of giants and receive their wisdom. What course might you chart for your career as a result? This book gives musicians of all ages and levels a chance to find out, whether they’re still in grade school or out trying their luck on the stages of the world. More than 75 famous musicians-including T-Bone Burnett, Sting, Sarah McLachlan, Lucinda Williams, and Elvis Costello-as well as industry professionals present personal advice that reveal their struggles, inspirations, successes, and overall experience of a life in music. The book features a wide variety of touching and practical wisdom on starting out, performing, writing music, touring, playing in bands, finding inspiration, partying in a drinks-and-drugs culture and, if the fates allow, handling fame.

Beyond Sound: The College and Career Guide in Music Technology is a must-read for anyone who loves music technology and wants to build a career in this competitive, fast-paced and exciting world. It is an outstanding resource for college and high school students, high school career centers,university placement centers, and libraries.Beyond Sound reflects on major technological advancements in recent history and explains why now is the ideal time to start a music technology career. An in-depth consideration of music technology education looks at over 200 schools that offer Music Technology, Music Recording, Music Industry, andMusic Business programs. Beyond Sound considers the differences between BM, BS, BA, and BFA degrees as well as Graduate School, Trade School, and Art school programs. The reader is given the tools to research and make informed decisions about where to go to pursue their own formal music technologyeducation.Beyond Sound provides practical guidance on career preparation, including how to get a great internship, how to land that first job, and how to make connections and move up in the business. Music technology jobs in recording, live sound, television and film, digital media, video games, retail sales,and education are described in great depth and clarity. Successful professionals in each of these fields share their stories, experiences, advice, and suggestions in candid interviews that provide the reader with a rare glimpse inside the professional world of music technology.Author Scott L. Phillips draws on his seventeen-year career as a technology trainer and educator, his scholarly research of music technology programs, and his extensive network of music technology professionals to bring the reader an intimate and accurate view of the exciting world of musictechnology. With this book, the aspiring music technologist will be able to learn about, prepare for, and begin a successful career that goes far Beyond Sound.