Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Biology Web Sites
AlgaeBase is a database of information on algae that includes terrestrial, marine and freshwater organisms.
All About Birds
Your Online Guide To Birds And Bird Watching
American Society of Naturalists
A membership society whose goal is to advance and to diffuse knowledge of organic evolution and other broad biological principles so as to enhance the conceptual unification of the biological sciences.
Botanical Society of America
The Botanical Society of America is a membership society whose mission is to: promote botany, the field of basic science dealing with the study and inquiry into the form, function, development, diversity, reproduction, evolution, and uses of plants and their interactions within the biosphere.
Canadian Botanical Association
The Canadian Botanical Association serves as the national organization for botanists in Canada, including professional botanists at universities, colleges, schools, government and industry as well as students, technicians and amateurs.
Canadian Society of Environmental Biologists
The Canadian Society of Environmental Biologists is a non-profit registered society, whose primary focus is to further the conservation and prudent management of Canada's natural resources based on sound ecological principles.
Canadian Society of Zoologists
The Canadian Society of Zoologists is a professional organization dedicated to the enhancement of education and research in zoology at the provincial, federal and international level.
Encyclopedia of Life
Global access to knowledge about life on Earth
Environmental Statistics from Statistics Canada
Information on Canada’s environment and its relationship with human activity.
Federal Science Library
A one-stop, self-serve portal where you can access library services and search the print collections and repositories of seven science-based departments and agencies from a single place. Wherever possible, departmental publications, reports, data sets and other content are freely available for anyone to access or download.
Search for information about fish
Human Genome Information Project Archive
During the Human Genome Project, this website served as the primary electronic information source for HGP researchers and the public. It is now a unique archive—a repository for historical documents detailing the history of the HGP from the project's beginnings in 1989 until it was completed in 2003.
The PrimateLit database provides bibliographic access to the scientific literature on nonhuman primates for the research and educational communities. It ceased adding material in 2010.
Tree of Life Project
The project provides information about biodiversity, the characteristics of different groups of organisms, and their evolutionary history.
Scientific American Biology News