Brandon, Manitoba: Databases : from BU and elsewhere

Click to see our full list of databases. Most require login using the same username and password you use for BU email and on-campus labs.

Includes a community event calendar, links to community event centres, and other information (suggestions for things to do, where to stay, places to eat, and so on.)

Manitoba Historical Society site

Try searching Brandon in the search box on the home page - it's on the upper right side of the page.

Options for various decades.
Search by Station Name - Brandon

"...an online searchable database supported by the Association for Manitoba Archives. MAIN provides access to descriptions of archival material held in Manitoba, including photographs, documents, audiovisual records, and maps. As a centralized resource for archival descriptions held in various repositories across Manitoba, MAIN facilitates access to records from a diverse range of creators.
Researchers are able to search for records in MAIN by creator, description, location, subject, or other entrance points. Once a relevant collection is located, users can contact the archives where the records are held to arrange access."
Some fulltext.

"The Manitoba Bureau of Statistics (MBS) is a branch within the Finance Research Division with the Department of Finance. The MBS is the government’s central statistics agency, responsible for the compilation, management, analysis, coordination and dissemination of economic, demographic and social statistics for the province of Manitoba. Operating under the terms of the Manitoba Statistics Act, MBS collaborates with departments and agencies to address data and statistical requirements.

Under federal-provincial agreement, MBS is the designated contact between the Manitoba government and Statistics Canada that acts as the official liaison regarding statistical matters related to the province’s economic, social and demographic conditions....
Key categories:
Employment and Labour Market,
Business, Industry and Trade,
Population and community,
Economy Wide Statistics,
Housing and Construction, and
Special Reports (for example, MBS Weekly Data and Reports, and 2018 Provincial Electoral Division (PED) Profiles Data and Reports)"

Includes a search option for place, as well as word, phrase, name, occupation, and other text.

Brandon is included in the statistical reports.

Limiters include Births, Marriages, Deaths, Names, City, and Dates.

University of Manitoba / database/ includes a variety of content (datasets, historical pamphlets, research publications) including some fulltext theses. Enter brandon in the search box. (Filters are available to set up a more complex search.)