Brandon, Manitoba: Newspaper Articles

If you're interested in newspapers from Brandon, consider the following options:

There are back issues of the Brandon Sun in the BU Library. The collection is comprised of microfilm, and some print - use this link to connect to the BU Catalogue record. It includes 2 options for online access. The holdings at each of these differ. Check the dates held at each if you want a specific issue.

• Newspaper Archive (see alternate notes to access this database below.)
• Community History Archive. 

Other options:

To see the options for online access to BU Library databases with newspapers, including the Brandon Sun, link to

To access the database Newspaper Archive on its own, link to

You may select Canada and proceed with your search, and limit to your specific terms after you have a result set. Note that this database is not complete, and that there will be missing issues of certain papers. However, if you want to see what papers are available for Brandon, and the holdings of those papers, try this:

• Go to Newspaper Archive.
• Select Canada.
• Find the section titled Explore Canada Historical Newspapers by State and select Manitoba.
• Find the section titled Explore Manitoba Historical Newspapers by City and select Brandon.
• Find the section titled Explore Brandon, Manitoba Historical Newspapers Archives - and select the paper you want.
• You may then browse that paper by year and issue. 

Another possibility is Manitobia. 

Find the option for Newspaper Search at the top, and then proceed.

For further information and assistance with the Brandon Sun, please contact the BU Library.