LibGuides: Economics: Economic Data Web Sites

Canadian Economic Data Websites

Links to Canadian Government information about the Canadian economy.

Bank of Canada Rates and Statistics
Economic Accounts at Statistics Canada
The economic accounts provide up-to-date portraits of national, provincial, and territorial economies and their structures, based on an integrated, internationally recognized set of economic accounting concepts.
Labour Statistics at Statistics Canada
The labour market activities of the Canadian population
Prices and Price Indexes at Statistics Canada
For governments, businesses, and individuals alike, every change in the price of a barrel of oil, a month’s rent, or even a loaf of bread has an impact on how we spend—and earn—our money.

U.S. Economic Data Websites

Links to United States Government information about the U.S. economy.

Data and Statistics USA
A single point of access to authoritative business, trade, and economic information from across the Federal Government.
Federal Reserve Economic Data
A database of 19,894 U.S. economic time series
Fedstats
National Information Center - U.S. Banks
A central repository of data about banks and other institutions for which the Federal Reserve has a supervisory, regulatory, or research interest, including both domestic and foreign banking organizations operating in the United States.
North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)
U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
U.S. Federal Reserve Board - Statistics

National

National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER)
Contains the full-text of working papers from the National Bureau of Economic Research. The NBER covers four areas of empirical research: developing new statistical measurements, estimating quantitative models of economic behavior, assessing the effects of public policies on the U.S. economy, and projecting the effects of alternative policy proposals. Many of its publications, including its working papers, NBER reporter, and NBER digest, are available for download.

World Economic Data Sites

Bank of England - Statistical Interactive Database
CIA World Factbook
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
European Central Bank - Statistics
Eurostat
Your key to European statistics
International Monetary Fund - Country Information
OECD StatExtracts
Penn World Table
PWT version 9.0 is a database with information on relative levels of income, output, input and productivity, covering 182 countries between 1950 and 2014.
United Kingdom - Economic Statistics
United Nations Statistics Division - Economic Statistics
World Bank Open Data
Free and open access to global development data
World Trade Organization - Time Series
A searchable database on international trade in merchandise and commercial services.

Data Hub

On this page, we summarize all available economic data (or economic statistics) on DataHub. Users can find various examples of economic indicators or explore data by country. The page is curated and updated on regular basis so don’t forget to bookmark it!

Economic Data Freely Available Online

Provided by The Economics Network in the U.K., this site list datasets for the U.K., International Data, Market Data as well as links to other portals for economic data.

Data World

Lists a number of interesting economic data sets. Whether it is data on Shark Tank companies or Fannie Mae credit rates, this site has some interesting collections of data.

BU Library QuickLinks

Library Home Page
The home page of the John E. Robbins Library
BU One Stop Search
Search the library catalog for books, journals, and online links
BU Journal List
The list of journals that Brandon University students and faculty have access to
BU Database List
The list of databases that Brandon University students and faculty have access to.

Contact

Carmen Kazakoff-Lane

Email Me

Contact:

Carmen Kazakoff -Lane, Scholarly Communications Librarian
John E. Robbins Library - ( LB 2-19 )
270-18th Street
Brandon, Manitoba
R7A 6A9

VIDEOCONFERENCING:
*Microsoft Meetings: Kazakoff@brandonu.ca
*Zoom Invite to Kazakoff@brandonu.ca

Blog:
https://hsscommons.ca/en/members/2009/blog

Ph: (204) 727-7483

Subjects: Anthropology, Business Administration, Classical and Modern Languages, Drama, Economics, English and Creative Writing, Faculty - Arts, Gender and Women’s Studies, History, Native Studies, Philosophy, Political Science, Religion, Rural Development, Sociology, Visual and Aboriginal Art