Skip to main content

Religious Studies Research Guide: Finding Books

Introduction to important research tools in the field of Religious Studies. Includes links to (1) Encyclopedias and Dictionaries, (2) important Databases in the Field and (3) tutorials on how to search different databases.

BU Library QuickLinks

Off-Campus Access

If you are a student or faculty member at Brandon University, you can access databases from off campus.

If you are accessing the library's web site from off campus, most links on the library's web site will first take you to the Proxy Authentication Page, where you can log in with your Brandon University username and password. Once you have logged in, you will be taken to the destination of the link. You should only have to log in once per session.

To log in, you will need your Brandon University username and password - the same username and password you use to log into the Brandon University network when you're on campus. If you have not claimed your username and password or you are having trouble logging in with those, you should contact the Brandon University Help Desk (Phone 571-8500 Monday -Friday 8:30AM to 4:30PM).

For more information, see the Off-Campus Access Page

Finding Books and Other Library Holdings

Whenever you need to identify if the library has a book, e-book, video, sound recording, government document, items on reserve, etc, the primary tool that you will use is the Library Catalog.

The Library Catalog serves as an inventory of all things held by the library.  You can search it like Google, or use its Advanced Search features to search for items by Subject, Title or Author.

It is a great resource for Religious Studies Topics that require a great deal of depth and only Books or E-Books tend to do this. 

If you want to find additional books not held in our collection and order them for free, try searching WorldCat or any Other Library Catalogs and then tell us to place an Inter-Library Loan.  We actually have a Video that you can view to show you how to place an ILL from Worldcat. These items take a week or two to arrive, so place your request a few weeks before you need the item.

 

Contact

Carmen Kazakoff-Lane's picture
Carmen Kazakoff-Lane
Contact:
Carmen Kazakoff -Lane, Scholarly Communications Librarian
John E. Robbins Library - ( LB 2-19 )
270-18th Street
Brandon, Manitoba
R7A 6A9

Ph: (204) 727-7483

VIDEOCONFERENCING:
*Microsoft Meetings: Kazakoff@brandonu.ca
*Zoom Invite to Kazakoff@brandonu.ca


Website Skype Contact: Kazakofflane

Interlibrary Loans

 

Interlibrary loans (ILL) provides access to journal articles, books and other itemsunavailable through the library. The service is available to all students, staff and faculty, is usually free and can take anywhere from a few days to a few weeks, depending on the library supplying us.

ILLs can be submitted to us via various Databases, as well as via our Online Forms (for information on how this is done see our ILL Flash Tutorial.). In either case, you will need to use your Brandon University ILL account to do so.

For more information, see the Interlibrary Loan page.