Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Religious Studies Research Guide: Finding Journal Articles

Introduction to important research tools in the field of Religious Studies. Includes links to (1) Encyclopedias and Dictionaries, (2) important Databases in the Field and (3) tutorials on how to search different databases.

BU Library QuickLinks

Accessing Databases from Home

If you are a student or faculty member at Brandon University, you can access databases from off campus.

If you are accessing the library's web site from off campus, most links on the library's web site will first take you to the Proxy Authentication Page, where you can log in with your Brandon University username and password. Once you have logged in, you will be taken to the destination of the link. You should only have to log in once per session.

To log in, you will need your Brandon University username and password - the same username and password you use to log into the Brandon University network when you're on campus. If you have not claimed your username and password or you are having trouble logging in with those, you should contact the Brandon University Help Desk (Phone 571-8500 Monday -Friday 8:30AM to 4:30PM).

For more information, see the Off-Campus Access Page

Contact

Profile Photo
Carmen Kazakoff-Lane
Contact:
Carmen Kazakoff -Lane, Scholarly Communications Librarian
John E. Robbins Library - ( LB 2-19 )
270-18th Street
Brandon, Manitoba
R7A 6A9

Ph: (204) 727-7483

VIDEOCONFERENCING:
*Microsoft Meetings: Kazakoff@brandonu.ca
*Zoom Invite to Kazakoff@brandonu.ca


Website Skype Contact: Kazakofflane

Finding Journal Articles

A journal is like a magazine except that the articles in it are written by researchers and have been checked for accuracy  by other scholars in a process called peer review.  Information about journal articles is found in databases. A complete list of databases available can be found by selecting  Religious Studies Databases.

I recommend starting with the ATLA Religion Index.  

  • It provides the broadest coverage of Religious Studies articles and also covers book chapters / essays in religious studies books.  

  • Some of these works are available via the library’s physical / digital collections and others are not.   This is because ATLA focuses on indexing everything published in the field of Religious Studies and the library will only purchase some of this content.  

  • If you come across a relevant article  (in a journal) - or an essay / book chapter - and it is not in our electronic collections, it may be in our physical collection.   ​​

    • You can learn if the library has the Book / Journal in its physical collection by searching the title of the Book (not the Essay)  or the title of the Journal (not the article) in the Library Catalog.

  • If you come across a article or book that is not in our physical or digital collections, you can still access it via a process known as Inter-Library Loans.  This means we seek out other libraries that have the item and request it on your behalf.

You can also find relevant articles by searching the Library Catalog. 

  • Like ATLA it covers books / ebooks, articles in journals, and provides links to full text items.

  •  Unlike ATLA it only contains items in the library’s physical / digital collections.  

Videos to get you started

Searching the ALTL Database

Interlibrary Loans

Interlibrary loans (ILL) provides access to journal articles, books and other itemsunavailable through the library. The service is available to all students, staff and faculty, is usually free and can take anywhere from a few days to a few weeks, depending on the library supplying us.

ILLs can be submitted to us via various Databases, as well as via our Online Forms (for information on how this is done see our ILL Flash Tutorial.). In either case, you will need to use your Brandon University ILL account to do so.

For more information, see the Interlibrary Loan page.