For more information about this program check out the PENT website, PENT Indigenous Teacher Education | Brandon University
Our collection
It is an exciting time to learn and teach! The John E. Robbins library has an excellent collection to support Indigenous teacher education. Our collection includes kits, books, journals, and other publications available as physical and/or online copies. Check out some of our picks for you on the PENT display by the circulation desk in the library. For more resources, continue to browse this library guide.
"A practical, jargon-free, and concise special education teacher's guide to the complete action research process, including how to use action research to identify and evaluate evidence-based interventions, with explicit connections to the legally mandated IEP planning, implementation, and evaluation process"-- Provided by publisher.
"Indigenous researchers are knowledge seekers who work to progress Indigenous ways of being, knowing and doing in a modern and constantly evolving context. This book describes a research paradigm shared by Indigenous scholars in Canada and Australia, and demonstrates how this paradigm can be put into practice."
"Indigenous students learn and retain more when teachers value the language and culture of the students' community and incorporate them into the curriculum. This is a principle enshrined in the UN Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples (2007) and borne out both by the successes of Indigenous-language immersion schools and by the failures of past assimilationist practices and the recent English-only policies of the No Child Left Behind Act in the United States.
Teaching Indigenous Students puts culturally based education squarely into practice. The volume, edited and with an introduction by leading American Indian education scholar Jon Reyhner, brings together new and dynamic research from established and emerging voices in the field of American Indian and Indigenous education. All of the contributions show how the quality of education for Indigenous students can be improved through the promotion of culturally and linguistically appropriate schooling.
Grounded in place, community, and culture, the approaches set out in this volume reflect the firsthand experiences of teachers and students in interacting not just with texts and one another, but also with the local community and environment. The authors address the specifics of teaching the full range of subjects-from learning literacy using culturally meaningful texts to inquiry-based science curricula, and from math instruction that incorporates real-world experience to social studies that blend oral history and local culture with national and world history.
Teaching Indigenous Students also emphasizes the importance of art, music, and physical education, both traditional and modern, in producing well-rounded human beings and helping students establish their identity as twenty-first-century Indigenous peoples. Surveying the work of Indigenous-language immersion schools around the world, this volume also holds out hope for the revitalization of Indigenous languages and traditional cultural values." description from Amazon Books
"The book focuses on how K-12 teachers of multilingual students can use these core practices in ways that humanize their practice - positioning students as whole human beings, valuing the assets and resources they bring to the classroom, actively involving students in rigorous instruction that draws on their experiences and knowledge, responding to each unique context, and disrupting traditional power dynamics - ultimately engaging in their work in ways that center equity and justice. The aim of this text is for teachers of multilingual students to understand how to move humanizing mindsets to action"-- Provided by publisher.
This comprehensive guide offers evidence-based reading practices. It's settled science: developing skilled readers can enhance students' lives. The book provides interactive modules which support teaching children to read with deeper levels of comprehension, by focusing on word recognition and language comprehension. Includes activities, recent research from neuroscience, cognitive science, and child development, and cutting-edge ideas. -- Publisher's description.
"In this thoroughly revised and updated edition of his bestselling book, education expert Kim Marshall shows how to break away from the typical and often ineffective evaluation approaches in which principals use infrequent classroom visits or rely on standardized test scores to assess a teacher's performance. Marshall proposes a broader framework for supervision and evaluation that enlists teachers in improving the performance of all students.
This vital resource also includes extensive tools and advice for managing time as well as ideas for using supervision and evaluation practices to foster teacher professional development." description from Amazon Books
"In recent decades, educators have been seeking ways to improve outcomes for Indigenous students. Yet most Indigenous education still takes place within a theoretical framework based in Eurocentric thought.
In Teaching Each Other, Linda Goulet and Keith Goulet provide an alternative framework for teachers working with Indigenous students – one that moves beyond acknowledging Indigenous culture to one that actually strengthens Indigenous identity. Drawing on Nehinuw (Cree) concepts such as kiskinaumatowin, or “teaching each other,” Goulet and Goulet provide a new approach to teaching Indigenous students.
Kiskinaumatowin transforms the normally hierarchical teacher-student relationship by making students and teachers equitable partners in education. Enriched with the success stories of educators who are applying Nehinuw concepts in Saskatchewan, Canada, this book demonstrates how this framework works in practice. The result is an alternative teaching model that can be used by teachers anywhere who want to engage with students whose culture may be different from the mainstream." Description from Amazon books
"This is a collection of classic and newly commissioned essays about the study of Indigenous literatures in North America. The contributing scholars include some of the most venerable Indigenous theorists, among them Gerald Vizenor (Anishinaabe), Jeannette Armstrong (Okanagan), Craig Womack (Creek), Kimberley Blaeser (Anishinaabe), Emma LaRocque (Métis), Daniel Heath Justice (Cherokee), Janice Acoose (Saulteaux), and Jo-Ann Episkenew (Métis). Also included are settler scholars foundational to the field, including Helen Hoy, Margery Fee, and Renate Eigenbrod. Among the newer voices are both settler and Indigenous theorists such as Sam McKegney, Keavy Martin, and Niigaanwewidam Sinclair.
The volume is organized into five subject areas: Position, the necessity of considering where you come from and who you are; Imagining Beyond Images and Myths, a history and critique of circulating images of Indigenousness; Debating Indigenous Literary Approaches; Contemporary Concerns, a consideration of relevant issues; and finally Classroom Considerations, pedagogical concerns particular to the field. Each section is introduced by an essay that orients the reader and provides ideological context. While anthologies of literary criticism have focused on specific issues related to this burgeoning field, this volume is the first to offer comprehensive perspectives on the subject." Description from Amazon books
"Across Canada, teachers unfamiliar with Aboriginal approaches to learning are seeking ways to respectfully weave Aboriginal content into their lessons. This book introduces an indigenist approach to education. It recounts how pre-service teachers immersed in a crosscultural course in British Columbia began to practise Indigenous ways of knowing. Working alongside Indigenous wisdom keepers, they transformed earth fibres into a mural and, in the process, their own ideas about learning and teaching. By revealing how these students worked to integrate Indigenous ways of knowing into their practice, this book opens a path for teachers to nurture indigenist cross-cultural understanding in their classrooms."--
"Indigenous Research Design is an interdisciplinary text that explores how researchers reimagine research paradigms, frameworks, designs, and methods. Building upon the theories and research teachings presented by Indigenous Peoples in Indigenous Knowledge Systems and Research Methodologies, editors Elizabeth Sumida Huaman and Nathan D. Martin present practical formations and applications of Indigenous research for a variety of community, student, professional, and educational projects.
With contributions from a broad selection of Indigenous scholars across disciplines and continents, this collection shares research stories and innovations directly linked to Indigenous Peoples’ lived experiences. The contributors ask researchers to rethink how their work is gathered, interpreted, and presented while providing guidance for how Indigenous knowledges and critiques inform each element and stage of the research process. This volume aims to inspire new and Indigenous-led ways of thoughtfully developing research questions, conceptualizing qualitative research paradigms, and collecting, analyzing, and disseminating data." Description from Amazon books
"This book presents the Transformational Indigenous Praxis Model (TIPM), an innovative framework for promoting critical consciousness toward decolonization efforts among educators. The TIPM challenges readers to examine how even the most well-intentioned educators are complicit in reproducing ethnic stereotypes, racist actions, deficit-based ideology, and recolonization. Drawing from decades of collaboration with teachers and school leaders serving Indigenous children and communities, this volume will help educators better support the development of their students' critical thinking skills. Representing a holistic balance, the text is organized in four sections: Birth-Grade 12 and Community Education, Teacher Education, Higher Education, and Educational Leadership. Unsettling Settler-Colonial Education centers the needs of teachers, children, families, and communities that are currently engaged in public education and who deserve an improved experience today, while also committing to more positive Indigenous futurities."-- Back cover.
Think about some foundational questions -- Think about why we should do this work -- Incorporate experiential learning -- Shift paradigms -- Choose accurate resources -- Be culturally responsive and engage in historical review and reparation -- Learn the accepted terminology -- Investigate Canadian Opera's interpretation of Louis Riel and the history of Manitoba -- Use restorative principles in your classroom and school community -- Establish a community of practice -- Acknowledge ancestral lands -- Teach how Indigenous peoples are not static but evolving cultures -- Emphasize the distinctive cultures of First Nations -- Compare governance and decision making -- Teach about the Indian Act -- Teach about treaties -- Experience consensus building through rock paper scissors tag -- Indigenous children's literature in the secondary classroom -- Practice oral story telling -- Explore the relationship with the land -- Celebrate National Indigenous Day and Indigenous history month -- Explain the Truth and Reconciliation Commission -- Consider the significance of the apology for residential schools -- Teach about residential school history through dance -- Teach about residential school history through film -- Teach about residential school history through poetry -- Teach about residential school history by wearing an orange shirt -- The concept of assimilation -- Why assimilation is not the answer -- Explore more Chelsea Vowel's writing -- Explore First Nations and Indigenous studies -- Teach about the importance of elders -- Compare traditional and scientific knowledge -- Identify edible plants and make a salad -- Plant a garden -- Explore Indigenous art -- Investigate Indigenous and northern success stories -- Become aware of the situation of Indigenous women and girls and speak out -- Remote communities and education -- Have spirit buddies in your classroom -- Ceremonies and rituals -- Concluding thoughts.
"Indigenous researchers are knowledge seekers who work to progress Indigenous ways of being, knowing and doing in a modern and constantly evolving context. This book describes a research paradigm shared by Indigenous scholars in Canada and Australia, and demonstrates how this paradigm can be put into practice. Relationships don’t just shape Indigenous reality, they are our reality. Indigenous researchers develop relationships with ideas in order to achieve enlightenment in the ceremony that is Indigenous research. Indigenous research is the ceremony of maintaining accountability to these relationships. For researchers to be accountable to all our relations, we must make careful choices in our selection of topics, methods of data collection, forms of analysis and finally in the way we present information. I’m an Opaskwayak Cree from northern Manitoba currently living in the Northern Rivers area of New South Wales, Australia. I’m also a father of three boys, a researcher, son, uncle, teacher, world traveller, knowledge keeper and knowledge seeker. As an educated Indian, I’ve spent much of my life straddling the Indigenous and academic worlds. Most of my time these days is spent teaching other Indigenous knowledge seekers (and my kids) how to accomplish this balancing act while still keeping both feet on the ground." Description from Amazon books
"Indigenous students remain one of the least represented populations in higher education. They continue to account for only one percent of the total post-secondary student population, and this lack of representation is felt in multiple ways beyond enrollment. Less research money is spent studying Indigenous students, and their interests are often left out of projects that otherwise purport to address diversity in higher education.
Recently, Native scholars have started to reclaim research through the development of their own research methodologies and paradigms that are based in tribal knowledge systems and values, and that allow inherent Indigenous knowledge and lived experiences to strengthen the research. Reclaiming Indigenous Research in Higher Education highlights the current scholarship emerging from these scholars of higher education. From understanding how Native American students make their way through school, to tracking tribal college and university transfer students, this book allows Native scholars to take center stage, and shines the light squarely on those least represented among us." Description from Amazon books