PENT: Teaching language

Grounded in research and practical expertise, this volume helps K-6 teachers skillfully support all of their English language learners (ELLs)--from a single student to an entire classroom. Ideas for teaching ELLs across different grade and proficiency levels include ways to link instruction to students' lived experiences, use a variety of motivating print and electronic texts and materials, engage families, and conduct effective assessments. Chapters are packed with tools and activities for promoting ELLs' development in oral language, phonics, fluency, vocabulary, comprehension, writing, and grammar. Handy reproducibles and "Voice from the Classroom" teacher vignettes enhance the utility of the book.

This unique new perspective and method for teaching English Language Learners is the proven result of the author's community organizing career and his successful career in the classroom. Written by an award-winning practitioner, English Language Learners: Teaching Strategies that Work offers educators a five-step methodology for teaching this burgeoning population. Rather than viewing these students through the typical lens of "deficits" they might have, the process helps educators recognize and use the assets ELLs bring to the classroom. The five principles around which the process revolves are: building relationships, accessing prior knowledge through student stories, developing student leadership, learning by doing, and reflection. The book shows how these ideas can be used in all subject areas to help ELLs master both content and language using "high-order" thinking skills. In addition to providing detailed lessons, the book shares a framework teachers can use to create their own lessons, and it shows how to take advantage of technology and games as teaching tools. References to extensive research studies are included to provide evidence of effectiveness, and each lesson is linked to state standards in English Language development.

This book examines the teaching of English language learners (ELL) by exploring topics not typically covered in theory or methods textbooks. Although methods texts commonly draw readers through well-known strategies such as the audio-lingual method, this book, by contrast, focuses attention on how music can advance and improve language skills. Looking broadly at the sociocultural implications of ELD, Tellez examines the role of the teacher in introducing and inspiring students to learn both a new language and a new society. Furthermore, he offers alterative views of language, and shows how a deeper understanding of it can shape and enrich the lives of both students and teachers. Drawing upon progressive pragmatic philosophy of Dewey, Addams, and Rorty, this book helps teachers to understand the important lineage and profession they have joined (or will join), and the urgent role they play as agents of democratic ideals and actions."

This volume provides a detailed account of the practical use of Assessment for Learning (AfL) in primary language classrooms. It gives an in-depth account of the ways in which eight experienced primary language teachers incorporated this type of assessment into their practice and discusses the possible impact of AfL on primary language learning. Key themes discussed in the volume include the relationship between AfL and language learning in childhood, which assessment methods are appropriate for primary-aged language learners, which methods support learner agency and engagement in the learning processes, and possible paths for future action, with a focus on implementation and researching AfL in primary language contexts. The findings of this book are relevant to global contexts and it will be of interest to postgraduate students and researchers in the fields of language education, language assessment and teacher education, as well as to primary and language teachers and school leaders.

"The authors deliver a passionate, practical, and loving approach to teaching children whose first language is other than English. This is a source of both inspiration and practical strategies for those educating our newest emergent bilingual citizens."--Sonia Nieto, Professor Emerita, Language, Culture, and TeachingUniversity of Massachusetts, Amherst "Finally, a comprehensive and beautifully written guide to teaching bilingually. Full of creative strategies, practical mentoring, and well-chosen vignettes, this book is destined to become the standard text in bilingual methods courses."--James Crawford, PresidentInstitute for Language and Education Policy "A truly intellectual text for all teachers of bilingual learners."--María E. Torres-Guzmán, Professor of Bilingual/Bicultural EducationTeachers College, Columbia University A hands-on guide to meeting the unique challenges of educating English language learners! Bilingual education programs give students who are learning languages and content the opportunity to progress academically while gaining proficiency in English as well as their first language. Grounded in current research, this hands-on guide helps educators navigate the linguistic, academic, and cultural considerations of bilingual classrooms. Focusing on teachers′ day-to-day experiences, the authors present classroom-ready strategies such as  Guidance on balancing instruction in two languages, including age-specific needs and social and academic language development Tools for content-area teaching across the curriculum, including vocabulary development Recommendations on appropriate assessments Vignettes from schools and teachers illustrating solutions to challenges Appropriate for a wide range of K-12 bilingual programs, Teaching in Two Languages is a comprehensive guide to language and content-area instruction for educators in any bilingual program or setting.

The New K-12 Classroom: Teaching Reading and Language Arts in a Digital World is an anthology for current and future K-12 teachers that focuses on the importance of using educational technology in the classroom. The second edition features seven units and presents readers with all new content to reflect technological and educational changes, especially in light of the COVID-19 pandemic. Unit I focuses on how technology was used in the reading and language arts classroom before the pandemic. It examines literacy in today's new media age by looking at where education has been and where it is going. Unit II discusses the theoretical background of educational technology, focusing on Mark Prensky's digital native and digital immigrant theory. In Unit III, the articles explore how teachers and students experienced the COVID-19 lockdown and how this time period affected technology use in present-day reading and language arts classrooms. In units IV and V, the readings discuss how students and teachers can use technology to promote reading and writing in the classroom. Closing units examine how students can uses technology and media in speaking, listening, viewing, and visually representing activities in the classroom. The New K-12 Classroom is ideal for courses that address teaching reading, language arts, and other foundational courses in English language arts curriculum.

This comprehensive volume describes evidence-based strategies for supporting English language learners (ELLs) by promoting meaningful communication and language use across the curriculum. Leading experts explain how and why learning is different for ELLs and pinpoint specific best practices for the classroom, illustrated with vivid examples. Particular attention is given to ways in which learning English is intertwined with learning the student's home language. The book addresses both assessment and instruction for typically developing ELLs and those with language disabilities and disorders. It demonstrates how educators and speech-language professionals can draw on students' linguistic, cognitive, sociocultural, and family resources to help close the achievement gap.

This book provides comprehensive coverage of language contact in classroom settings. Particularly highlighted are the range and implications of attitudes towards languages and dialects, as well as broad consideration of the assumptions and intentions underpinning bilingual and multicultural education.

The Language of Mathematics: How the Teacher's Knowledge of Mathematics Affects Instruction introduces the reader to a collection of thoughtful works by authors that represent current thinking about mathematics teacher preparation. The book provides the reader with current and relevant knowledge concerning preparation of mathematics teachers. The complexity of teaching mathematics is undeniable and all too often ignored in the preparation of teachers with substantive mathematical content knowledge and mathematical teaching knowledge. That said, this book has a focus on the substantive knowledge and the relevant pedagogy required for preparing teachings to enter classrooms to teach mathematics in K-12 school settings. Each chapter focuses on the preparation of teachers who will enter classrooms to instruct the next generation of students in mathematics. Chapter One opens the book with a focus on the language and knowledge of mathematics teaching. The authors of Chapters Two-Nine present field-based research that examines the complexities of content and pedagogical knowledge as well as knowledge for teaching. Each chapter offers the reader an examination of mathematics teacher preparation and practice based on formal research that provides the reader with insight into how the research study was conducted as well as providing the findings and conclusions drawn with respect to mathematics teacher preparation and practice. Finally, Chapter 10 presents an epilogue that focuses on the future of mathematics teacher preparation.

Research shows that vocabulary is the best support for students' comprehension of narrative and information texts. Often, vocabulary instruction focuses on a few target words in specific texts. However, to understand the many new words in complex texts students need to know how words work. This book, written by an award-winning authority on reading instruction, shows teachers how to make small changes to teach more words and also how words work. Many of these small changes involve enrichments to existing vocabulary practices, such as word walls and conversations with students. Each chapter includes descriptions of teachers' implementation of small changes to support big gains in students' vocabulary. This book, which has sufficient depth in research and theory for graduate and undergraduate courses in vocabulary instruction, also offers practical steps that K-8 teachers can use in any reading program to help all students grow their vocabulary. Teaching Words and How They Work shows teachers how to: Identify the most important word families to teach. Teach students to use opening text as background knowledge for comprehending the rest of the text. Use word walls with more purpose and greater student engagement. Select the right words to teach from new information texts. Better understand limitations of leveled texts and how to adjust. Use assets and address challenges to support English learners. Access free mentor and teacher resources online at textproject.org.

Provides a clear and succinct introduction to teaching the language arts to elementary students Key Features Focuses on integrating the six language arts--reading, writing, listening, speaking, viewing, and visually representing--with other subject areas Provides guidance on differentiating instruction to bring out the best in the rapidly growing number of students with special needs and English language learners in the regular classroom Includes a detailed lesson plan in each chapter along with instructional activities and techniques to integrate the language arts across all the subjects in the elementary curriculum Accompanied by High-Quality Ancillaries! Student Resource CD: Bundled with the book, this CD includes video clips and discussion questions that correlate with important chapter concepts. This interactive study site provides practice tests, flashcards, chapter summaries, links to NCTE/IRA and state-specific Language Arts standards, and much more. Instructor Resources on CD: Available by contacting SAGE Customer Care at 1-800-818-SAGE (7243), this CD for instructors offers resources such as lecture outlines, PowerPoint slides, a test bank, and sample syllabi for semester and quarter courses.Intended AudienceThis book is intended for undergraduate and graduate courses in elementary language arts methods, which teaches pre-service teachers and licensure/certification candidates specifically how to teach their students the basics of the six language arts - reading, writing, listening, speaking, viewing, and visually representing.