Skip to main content

Education Resources: Home

Guide to teaching and education resources in the Library and on the web

Home

From off campus, you should have access to all online resources that Brandon University has subscribed to! 

Go to the library home page:

You can begin your searching at the large "One Stop Search" box.  Once you have a list of results, you'll be asked for your BU username and password when you click on an online book or journal article that Brandon University has paid for. 

Education Databases

In addition to the One Stop Search on the library homepage, there are also other databases to search for resources in the field of education.

Some key databases are listed below:

The Education Resource Information Center (ERIC) is a digital library of education research and information sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. 

"ERIC's mission is to provide a comprehensive, easy-to-use, searchable, Internet-based, bibliographic and full-text database of education research and information for educators, researchers, and the general public".

ERIC has it's own thesaurus which can be very helpful in determining the best terms to use for your search.

 

The ERIC database can also be searched through EbscoHOST.

Using EbscoHOST to search ERIC will give access to the same collection of resources, but the interface in EbscoHOST looks different and gives slightly different options for refining and narrowing search results.  Users who are already familiar with EbscoHOST sometimes prefer to use it to search ERIC, because they are comfortable using it.

Important: Click on Advanced Search, scroll down and select Education before searching

General Databases

Important:  Access Google Scholar from the Library home page (under Library Quick Links). You will be asked for your BU username and password so that you are recognized as a Brandon University student and will be given access to online resources we have purchased.

Reference Librarian

Marian Ramage's picture
Marian Ramage
Contact:
I am available to meet with students and faculty members on Zoom or Teams, or by phone:
204-727-7463
Subjects:Education

Acting University Librarian

Rainer Schira's picture
Rainer Schira
Contact:
204-727-7688