Health Statistics: Online - including Government Documents

For volumes dated earlier than 1906 (which have slightly different titles) link to the 'Continues' option at this site.
BU has a print collection of CYB in Government Documents which includes many of the older, as well as more recent, volumes of this publication. The publication ceased publication in 2012.

"This report examines the main health challenges facing LGBTQIA2 communities in Canada and identifies ways in which the federal government, in co-operation with the provinces and territories, can address the health inequities that these population face. First, the report sets out the definitions and terminology used to refer to LGBTQIA2 persons. The second section of the report outlines the mental, physical and sexual health status of LGBTQIA2 communities in Canada based on available data. Next, the report examines factors that contribute to health inequities among gender and sexual minorities, as well as the way identity factors and certain determinants of health intersect and affect the health of LGBTQIA2 communities. The report concludes by presenting potential solutions and a series of recommendations to the federal government for improving the health of Canada’s LGBTQIA2 communities."

"This report is a product of the Pan-Canadian Health Inequalities Reporting (HIR) Initiative, a collaborative effort of the Pan-Canadian Public Health Network (PHN), the Public Health Agency of Canada (PHAC), Statistics Canada, and the Canadian Institute for Health Information (CIHI). We also acknowledge the partnership of the First Nations Information Governance Centre (FNIGC)....The HIR Initiative’s theoretical foundations are based on a conceptual framework originally developed by the World Health Organization (WHO) Commission on Social Determinants of Health.... The resulting portrait of the state of health inequalities in Canada is available through the Health Inequalities Data Tool, an online interactive database (http://infobase.phac-aspc.gc.ca/health-inequalities)....This report draws on a number of national surveys and administrative databases to populate the indicators, including the Canadian Community Health Survey, Canadian Vital Statistics Database, and the Canadian Cancer Registry. While many of these sources capture data for First Nations people living off reserve, the Métis and the Inuit, most exclude First Nations people living on reserve and in northern communities. Helping to fill this information gap is the First Nations Regional Health Survey (RHS), the only First Nations–governed national health survey in Canada. The RHS, coordinated by the First Nations Information Governance Centre (FNIGC) in collaboration with its 10 Regional Partners, collects information about First Nations people living on reserve and in northern communities based on both Western and traditional understandings of health and well-being. In the present report, where applicable, national-level RHS data and contextual information for First Nations people living on reserve and in northern communities are provided by FNIGC. PHAC has worked in partnership with FNIGC to ensure that the inclusion of on-reserve First Nations data in this report is in compliance with the First Nations principles of OCAP® (Ownership, Control, Access and Possession)."

Table of Contents: Preface; Acknowledgments; Executive Summary; Key Health Inequalities in Canada: Introduction; Methodology;
Methodology: Technical Notes; Health Outcomes; Life Expectancy and Mortality; Inequalities in Life Expectancy and Health-Adjusted Life Expectancy in Canada; Inequalities in Infant Mortality in Canada; Inequalities in Unintentional Injury Mortality in Canada; Mental Illness; Inequalities in Suicide Mortality in Canada; Self-assessed Health; Inequalities in Perceived Mental Health (Low Self-Rated Mental Health) and Mental Illness; Hospitalization in Canada; Cause-Specific Outcomes; Inequalities in Arthritis in Canada; Inequalities in Asthma in Canada; Inequalities in Diabetes in Canada; Inequalities in Disability in Canada; Inequalities in Obesity in Canada; Inequalities in Oral Health in Canada: Inability to Chew; Inequalities in Tuberculosis in Canada; Health Determinants – Daily Living Conditions; Health Behaviours; Inequalities in High Alcohol Consumption in Canada; Inequalities in Smoking, Exposure to Second-hand Smoke, and Lung Cancer Incidence in Canada; Physical and Social Environment;
Inequalities in Core Housing Need in Canada; Health Determinants – Structural Drivers; Early Childhood Development; Inequalities in Early Childhood Development in Canada; Social Inequities; Inequalities in Household Food Insecurity in Canada; Inequalities in Working Poor Canadians; Key Health Inequalities in Canada: Discussion and Implications

"MCHP is a research unit within the Department of Community Health Sciences, in the Max Rady College of Medicine, Rady Faculty of Health Sciences at the University of Manitoba, focusing on the question "What makes people healthy?"
We carry out population-based research on health services, population and public health, and the social determinants of health. Many factors affect health, such as health care, health programs and policies, income, education, employment and social circumstances. Our research helps Manitoba to maximize our healthcare dollars and to identify health and social policy tools we need for the future. We also research what will level the playing field between children from low- and high-income neighbourhoods, and northern and rural areas and urban areas."

"OECD Health Statistics offers the most comprehensive source of comparable statistics on health and health systems across OECD countries, and includes data found in the publication Health at a Glance. It provides data on the health status of the population including obesity (overweight, obese), suicide and life expectancy, health care financing, health care resources, social protection, health care utilization, the pharmaceutical market, long-term care resources and utilization, non-medical determinants of health, expenditure on health, and demographic and economic references, with coverage being provided for OECD and selected non-OECD countries as far back as 1960."

"The Data Tools help users visualize public health data through simple drop-down menus. Users can access geographic comparisons, trends, age distributions, and disaggregated data layered by socioeconomic and sociodemographic variables." Options include Canadian Risk Factor Atlas, Cancer in Young People in Canada, Canadian Chronic Disease Surveillance System, Health Inequalities, and Congenital Anomalies in Canada.

"The Indicator Frameworks are pan-Canadian resources that provide measures of chronic diseases, mental health, risk and protective factors and associated determinants. Combined with the Data Tool platform, each measure within a Framework can be visualized.' Options include Perinatal Health Indicators, Child Maltreatment Surveillance Indicator Framework, Suicide Surveillance Indicator Framework, Physical Activity, Sedentary Behaviour and Sleep (PASS) Indicators, First Nations and Inuit Health and Wellness Indicators, Canadian Chronic Disease Indicators, and Positive Mental Health Surveillance Indicator Framework.

"In the Data Lab you will find a new way of discovering public health data, you will get the inside scoop on upcoming publications, and you will find the story in the numbers through a curated collection of public health infographics, infobytes, and other data visualizations." Options include Data Blog, Data Visualization, and The Drawing Board.

"The Library also has a collection of externally published resources on statistical methodology, sociology, economics, industry, trade and other subjects of current and former interest to Statistics Canada."
Some content is full text. Includes links to online Census materials.

"Mental health and addictions issues affect Manitoba children and youth at soaring rates and, for years, demand for these health services has outpaced supply. In the last five years, suicide has become the leading manner of death for Manitoba youth ages 10-17. This special report dives into lessons learned from the suicide deaths of 22 Manitoba girls. The girls, ages 11-17, were primarily from rural and northern Manitoba communities and died between 2013 and 2019. Their struggles point to glaring cracks in provincial mental health and addiction services. The Advocate makes seven recommendations to the provincial government about how to fix these systems and therefore improve the wellbeing of Manitoba children and youth."

"The Suicide Surveillance Indicator Framework (SSIF) provides information on suicide and self-inflicted injury outcomes and its associated risk and protective factors in Canada. Indicators are grouped by outcome and four key domains (individual, family, community, society). Pan-Canadian estimates are provided for each indicator....For each measure in the SSIF, pan-Canadian estimates are available, along with breakdowns by key demographic and socioeconomic variables...."