Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Have a look at some of the collection....
Teeias Learns about Medicines by
Call Number: Indigenous Curriculum Collection - First Floor E98. M4E24 2019
Publication Date: 2018-08-05
My goal for "Teeias Learns About Medicines" is to educate you about traditions that are historical to my son's Blackfoot culture. It is also to provide sustainable means to renew access to these important plants. Many Indigenous families have lost their traditional knowledge or even their traditional resources. I believe learning about gardening and tapping into resources available may revitalize this connection as well as help with biodiversity.
Native Land Talk by
Call Number: Indigenous Curriculum Collection - First Floor KF8400. B46N38 2018
Publication Date: 2018-01-02
Histories of rights have too often marginalized Native Americans and African Americans. Addressing this lacuna, Native Land Talk expands our understanding of freedom by examining rights theories that Indigenous and African-descended peoples articulated in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. As settlers began to distrust the entitlements that the English used to justify their rule, the colonized and the enslaved formulated coherent logics of freedom and belonging. By anchoring rights in nativity, they countered settlers' attempts to dispossess and disenfranchise them. Drawing on a plethora of texts, including petitions, letters, newspapers, and official records, Yael Ben-zvi analyzes nativity's unsettling potentials and its discursive and geopolitical implications. She shows how rights were constructed in relation to American, African, and English spaces, and explains the obstacles to historic solidarity between Native American and African American struggles.
A Name Earned by
Call Number: Indigenous Curriculum Collection - First Floor PZ7. T489N36 2018
Publication Date: 2018-03-15
After overcoming years of trouble with his alcoholic father and surviving a near-death car accident, Bobby Byington--for the first time in his life--has a strong family. His parents are reunited, his father has turned away from the bottle, and Bobby is a starter on the high school basketball team. But the door to trouble never stays closed. Bobby's girlfriend, Faye, is suffering attacks from a school bully, and some of Bobby's basketball teammates are dealing with all-too-familiar problems at home. Hoping to help his friends, Bobby shares the legend of No Name, a story about a young man's heated relationship with his father. Coach Robison told it to him back when Bobby needed to hide from his own dad. As the playoffs near and the team plays to win, Coach delivers another message that extends well beyond the basketball court: "Your life is carved by the choices you make. You earn your name by your actions."
The Great Cheyenne by
Call Number: Indigenous Curriculum Collection - First Floor PZ7.1. E234G74 2018
Publication Date: 2018-02-06
An indigenous female pioneer. One woman's journey deep into the alpha male world of professional wrestling.
Surviving the City by
Call Number: Indigenous Curriculum Collection - First Floor PN6733. S65S87 2018
Publication Date: 2018-11-30
Tasha Spillett's graphic novel debut, Surviving the City, is a story about womanhood, friendship, colonialism, and the anguish of a missing loved one. Miikwan and Dez are best friends. Miikwan is Anishinaabe; Dez is Inninew. Together, the teens navigate the challenges of growing up in an urban landscape - they're so close, they even completed their Berry Fast together. However, when Dez's grandmother becomes too sick, Dez is told she can't stay with her anymore. With the threat of a group home looming, Dez can't bring herself to go home and disappears. Miikwan is devastated, and the wound of her missing mother resurfaces. Will Dez's community find her before it's too late? Will Miikwan be able to cope if they don't?
Art and Culture: American Indian artifacts : 2-D shapes by
Call Number: Indigenous Curriculum Collection - First Floor E98. A7M39 2018
Publication Date: 2017-09-01
Students will develop their geometry skills as they study the shapes and patterns in Native American art. This book seamlessly integrates the teaching of math and reading, and uses real-world examples to teach geometry concepts. Text features include a glossary, an index, captions, and a table of contents to increase students' vocabulary and reading comprehension skills as they interact with the text. The rigorous practice problems, math charts and diagrams, and sidebars provide many opportunities for students to practice their developing math skills, and apply what they've learned to their everyday lives. Math Talk provides an in-depth opportunity for further problem solving.
Ojibwe Stories from the Upper Berens River by
Call Number: Indigenous Curriculum Collection - First Floor E99. C6B54 2018
Publication Date: 2018-01-01
In Ojibwe Stories from the Upper Berens River Jennifer S. H. Brown presents the dozens of stories and memories that A. Irving Hallowell recorded from Adam (Samuel) Bigmouth, son of Ochiipwamoshiish (Northern Barred Owl), at Little Grand Rapids in the summers of 1938 and 1940. The stories range widely across the lives of four generations of Anishinaabeg along the Berens River in Manitoba and northwestern Ontario. In an open and wide-ranging conversation, Hallowell discovered that Bigmouth was a vivid storyteller as he talked about the eight decades of his own life and the lives of his father, various relatives, and other persons of the past. Bigmouth related stories about his youth, his intermittent work for the Hudson's Bay Company, the traditional curing of patients, ancestral memories, encounters with sorcerers, and contests with cannibalistic windigos. The stories also tell of vision-fasting experiences, often fraught gender relations, and hunting and love magic--all in a region not frequented by Indian agents and little visited by missionaries and schoolteachers. With an introduction and rich annotations by Brown, a renowned authority on the Upper Berens Anishinaabeg and Hallowell's ethnography, Ojibwe Stories from the Upper Berens River is an outstanding primary source for both First Nations history and the oral literature of Canada's Ojibwe peoples.
Nokum: ma voix et mon coeur by
Call Number: Indigenous Curriculum Collection Indigenous Inquiry Kits - First Floor IIK 33 PS8553. O759N6514 2006
Publication Date: 2006-11-21
Moonbeam Children's Book Awards, Medaille de bronze 2007 Prix du meilleur livre jeunesse -- Anskohk Aboriginal Literature Festival, Laureat 2007 Nokum, ma voix et mon coeur est le recit poetique d'un jeune autochtone qui livre a sa grand-mere son questionnement sur le monde au-dela du contexte rassurant des siens et de sa communaute. Nokum accompagne son petit-fils dans sa quete par des questions l'invitant a reconnaitre l'importance pour lui de decouvrir le monde au-dela de la reserve et d'y participer.Comprend le livre en français et en cri accompagne de son enregistrement sur CD lu par le talentueux auteur/raconteur sur une trame sonore de chants et tambours du groupe albertain Northern Cree. Anskohk Aboriginal Literature Festival Winner Children's Book of the Year 2007 Moonbeam Children's Book Awards, 2007 Bronze Medalist - Multicultural Picture Book Category Alberta Children's Book of the Year nominee 2007 Canadian Children's Book Centre Our Choice, 2009 CD included with book!
Shota and the Star Quilt by
Call Number: Indigenous Curriculum Collection - First Floor PM1024. Z9L3325 1998
Publication Date: 2001-04-01
Shota is a young Lakota girl who lives in a contemporary American city. When the block that her family and friends live on is threatened by development, they use long-standing Lakota traditions to find a solution that saves their homes. In working together, they create a beautiful quilt that resolves more than just their problem. This story weaves together traditional folktale values with modern concerns for the urban environment and green issues. In addition to the beautiful folk-style native art illustrations, the complete text of the story is presented in Lakota as well as English.