Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The library has lots of resources for people doing research in Medieval History. This guide will point out the ones that I think will be most useful in helping you do research.
If you have any ideas about how to make this guide better, please get in contact with me (my contact information is just to the right).
BU Library QuickLinks
Search for the title of a journal in Ulrichsweb to see if the journal is peer-reviewed (they call it refereed). If you see a little black and white jersey icon then the journal is peer-review. You still have to make sure that the article in the journal is a peer-reviewed article.
Introduction to Research Tools in Medieval History
In order to do good historic research, you need to understand the context of your topic. To get this broad understanding of your topic you should read your textbook and have a look at an encyclopedia or dictionary (we call them reference books). Follow this link to learn about Print Reference books. Or follow this link to learn more about Electronic Reference books.
After you have done this, I would suggest you start looking for books on your topic. A book will cover more aspects of your topic, giving you a better understanding of how your specific topics fits into its historic context. Follow this link to learn more about Finding Books.
Only after you have gained this understanding should you look for journal articles. Journal articles will focus on very specific aspects of your topic. It might be difficult for you to understand them if you do not have the background knowledge to place them into context. Follow this link to learn more about Finding Journal Articles.
Lastly, some research will require you to locate primary documents. If you need to do so, click on the Primary Documents Tab for details. Follow this link to learn more about Finding Primary Sources.
Below are some links to databases for Medieval History resources
A bibliography comprised of secondary source material pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).
Medieval Feminist Index
Here you can find articles and essay collections primarily dealing with women, sexuality, or gender in medieval history.
JSTOR Journals Collection
Includes more than 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published.
A leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide.
Bibliography of British and Irish History Online
Provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available.
, Business Administration
, Classical and Modern Languages
, English and Creative Writing
, Gender and Women’s Studies
, Native Studies
, Political Science
, Rural Development
, Visual and Aboriginal Art