LibGuides: Medieval History: Finding Journal Articles

Finding Journal Articles

Search the databases below for scholarly (academic or peer-reviewed) articles.

If you're not on campus, you'll be asked to log in before connecting to the database.

Sometimes you will have direct access to full text articles, other times you will have to search the Journals List to see if subscribe to that journal.

If an article is not in our library or online, order it through Inter-Library Loans. It's free.

Medieval History Database

Bibliography of British and Irish History Online
Provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available.
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Here you can find articles and essay collections primarily dealing with women, sexuality, or gender in medieval history.

General Medieval Databases

General Databases Relevant to Medieval History

Google Scholar
Tries to provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.
Academic Search Premier (EbscoHOST)
Provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
JSTOR Journals Collection
Includes more than 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published.
Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) Collection
Makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles. - Coverage: 1802-1995
Project MUSE
A leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide.
Web of Science
A true citation index: Your single destination to the world’s largest collection of research data, books, journals, proceedings, publications and patents. Covers all subject areas.
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials PLUS (EbscoHOST)
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials PLUS (Atlas PLUS) combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with Atla’s largest collection of full text religion and theology journals. AtlasPLUS contains more than 600 full text titles, including all AtlaSerials (Atlas) titles. Coverage: 1949-