Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Other database options
Canadian Major Dailies (formerly Canadian Newsstand Major Dailies) (ProQuest)
Search newspapers including national and leading regional papers such as National Post, Calgary Herald, Edmonton Journal, Montreal Gazette, Ottawa Citizen, Regina Leader Post, Vancouver Sun and the Victoria Times-Colonist. Citation only: 1982-1996; Full Text: May 2006-
Includes Canadian Online, Héritage and Early Canadiana Online
Digital Collection of Manitoba Government Publications
Contains digital versions of published Manitoba government documents from the early 2000s (and sometimes even earlier) to present. Included are major reports and public information from departments and government agencies. Coverage: mainly 1996-present; site does contain some older materials as well.
Frontier Life: Borderlands, Settlement & Colonial Encounters
This digital collection of primary source documents helps us to understand existence on the edges of the anglophone world from 1650-1920. Discover the various European and colonial frontier regions of North America, Africa and Australasia through documents that reveal the lives of settlers and indigenous peoples in these areas.
An integrated research experience, Gale Literature brings together Gale Literature Resource Center and Gale eBooks in a new digital environment that allows researchers, faculty and students to search across these resources to discover and analyze content in entirely new ways. (Formerly called Gale Literacy Sources or Artemis Literary Sources.)
Gale Literature Resource Center (including Contemporary Authors)
Literature Resource Center offers up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. Its materials support interdisciplinary approaches, information literacy, and the development of critical thinking skills.
HeinOnline is a premier online database containing more than 150 million pages and 200,000 titles of legal history and government documents in a fully searchable, image-based format. HeinOnline bridges the gap in historical research by providing comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 2,500 law-related periodicals. In addition to its vast collection of law journals, HeinOnline contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.
Independent Voices is a digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
The world's largest online newspaper archive.
- Click on the option for Canada. Once you reach that search option, you may narrow your search by scrolling to the bottom of the page and finding the options for materials within Canada - such as Manitoba. Once you are there, again you may opt to go to that bottom of that search page and see the choices for Explore Historical Manitoba Newspapers by City. Any selection here will take you to another search box to search specific source.
Delivers fast access to thousands of credible sources from around the world, covering news, legal, and business information and much more..
Northwest Resistance Database
Index of materials related to the Northwest Resistance of 1885.
Our World (Available in Manitoba Only)
Manitobans enjoy free, permanent online access to rich primary source and research content including newspapers, maps, photos, pamphlets, manuscripts etc. The available collections include archives of The Economist, The Financial Times, and The Times (London), as well as digitized materials from The Smithsonian Institution, the world’s largest museum and research complex. In addition, residents will be able to explore the Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, and make new discoveries with access to every article published in National Geographic Magazine from 1888-1994. These examples represent only a fraction of what is available through Our World.
Peel's Prairie Provinces
Collection of Digitized Historical Documents related to Prairie History
ProQuest Dissertation and Theses Global
Simplifies searching for dissertations and theses via a single access point to explore an extensive, trusted collection of 3.8 million graduate works, with 1.7 million in full text.
The databases to which BU Library provides access are listed here: