"... The portal is part of Statistics Canada's Indigenous Statistical Capacity Development Initiative, and provides a central location on the agency's website where users can find links to data products about First Nations people, Métis and Inuit.
The Indigenous Statistics Portal provides data on Indigenous communities, children and families, health and well-being, education, work and many other topics, in one convenient location...."
"The Statistics Canada Library houses a comprehensive repository of publications produced by Statistics Canada and its predecessor organizations. This includes a collection of historical material dating back to 1841 that provides information on topics such as the census, foreign trade and industrial production."
"The Library also has a collection of externally published resources on statistical methodology, sociology, economics, industry, trade and other subjects of current and former interest to Statistics Canada."
Some content is full text. Includes links to online Census materials.
Contains digital versions of published Manitoba government documents from the early 2000s (and sometimes even earlier) to present. Included are major reports and public information from departments and government agencies. Coverage: mainly 1996-present; site does contain some older materials as well.
""Harvesting activities such as hunting, fishing, trapping and gathering wild plants have been part of Indigenous peoples' ways of living for millennia. They have endured despite the impact of colonization, including the impacts of residential schools, relocation to permanent settlements and introduction of the wage economy. This paper examines trends in harvesting activities, specifically hunting, fishing or trapping and gathering wild plants or berries, among First Nations people living off reserve, Métis and Inuit using four cycles of the Aboriginal Peoples Survey (2001, 2006, 2012 and 2017). It also explores self-reported barriers to participation in harvesting activities and associated factors"--Executive summary, page 3."