Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
BU Library QuickLinks
Library Home Page
The home page of the John E. Robbins Library
BU Library Catalogue
Search the library catalog for books, journals, and online links
BU Journal List
The list of journals that Brandon University students and faculty have access to
BU Database List
The list of databases that Brandon University students and faculty have access to.
Books in the BU Library
Here is a sample of some of the Reference books available in the BU Library. Check the BU Library Catalogue for the most current material, both in print and online, available through the BU Library.
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life
Call Number: Reference GT31. G74
"...offers (a) look at human history's living heart: the billions of anonymous men and women too often forgotten by historical studies, but without whose lives human history would be meaningless.
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Gender Studies
Call Number: Reference BS680. W7O94 2014
"Extending the work of nineteenth and twentieth century feminist scholarship and more recent queer studies, the Encyclopedia seeks to advance the scholarly conversation by systematically exploring the ways in which gender is constructed in the diverse texts, cultures, and readers that constitute "the world of the Bible." "
Women and Music in America since 1900
Call Number: Music ML82. W66
"This two volume, A-to-Z encyclopedia represents the first major effort to describe the role of women in all forms of music in the U.S. since 1900."
Women in the Middle Ages
Call Number: Reference HQ1143. W66
"This encyclopedia chronicles the lives and contributions of women in the medieval world. Included are some 350 alphabetically arranged entries on a wide range of topics."
The Women's Movement Today: an encyclopedia of third-wave feminism
Call Number: Reference HQ1115. W644
"... introduces the third wave's key issues, members, visions, writings, and more--with essay entries on abortion to zines, with the Riotgrrrl group Bikini Kill, cyberspace, National Girls and Women in Sports Day, queer theory, and activist/writer Rebecca Walker in between."
, Business Administration
, Classical and Modern Languages
, English and Creative Writing
, Gender and Women’s Studies
, Native Studies
, Political Science
, Rural Development
, Visual and Aboriginal Art