LibGuides: Gender & Women's Studies: Online Primary Sources

Suggestions

The collected letters of Joanna Baillie -paid for by BU
The InteLex Past Masters Women Writers database The Collected Letters of Joanna Baillie contains the two volumes of The Collected Letters of Joanna Baillie, edited by Judith Bailey Slagle and published Fairleigh Dickinson University Press, 1999.

Defining Gender 1450-1910
Primary Source Materials including documents, letters, diaries, books, pamphlets, images, maps

Epistolae: Medieval Women's Letters - Free
Epistolæ is a collection of letters to and from women in the Middle Ages, from the 4th to the 13th century. The letters, written in Latin, are linked to the names of the women involved, with English translations and, where available, biographical sketches of the women and some description of the subject matter or the historic context of the letter.

Gale Primary Sources - Newspapers
Includes 17-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers and 19th Century British Newspapers - 3 million pages of historic newspapers, newsbooks & ephemera. Coverage: 1600-1900

Gender issues and sexuality: essential primary sources - paid for by BU
A focus on leading social issues of the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries. Each title contains approximately 175 full or excerpted documents---speeches, legislation, magazine and newspaper articles, essays, memoirs, letters, interviews, novels, songs, and works of art---as well as overview information that places each document in context.
Internet Women's History Sourcebook - Free
This sourcebook attempts to present online documents and secondary discussions which reflect the various ways of looking at the history of women within broadly defined historical periods and areas.
The life and writings of Lady Mary Wortley Montagu - paid for by BU
The Oxford University Press editions of Wortley’s Writings and Letters, together with the authoritative biographies.

Our World (Available in Manitoba Only)
Manitobans enjoy free, permanent online access to rich primary source and research content including newspapers, maps, photos, pamphlets, manuscripts etc. The available collections include archives of The Economist, The Financial Times, and The Times (London), as well as digitized materials from The Smithsonian Institution, the world’s largest museum and research complex. In addition, residents will be able to explore the Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, and make new discoveries with access to every article published in National Geographic Magazine from 1888-1994. These examples represent only a fraction of what is available through Our World.

People with a History: An Online Guide to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Trans* History
People with a History presents the history of lesbians, gay men, bisexuals and transgendered people [=LGBT]. It includes hundreds of original texts, discussions, and [soon] images, and addresses LGBT history in all periods, and in all regions of the world.
Studies in Scarlet: Marriage & Sexuality in the U.S. & the U.K. 1815-1914 - Free
Studies in Scarlet presents the images of over 420 separately published trial narratives from the Harvard Law School Library's extensive trial collections.

Women, War & Society 1914-1918 Digital Archive
The First World War had a revolutionary and permanent impact on the personal, social and professional lives of all women. Their essential contribution to the war in Europe is fully documented in this definitive collection of primary source materials brought together in the Imperial War Museum, London. - Coverage; 1914 - 1918

The link will take you to Archives Unbound. Click on the link for Collections and this database (Women, War and Society...) will appear.

Women Working 1800-1930 - Free
The collection features approximately 500,000 digitized pages and images. From Harvard University.

Hi

Carmen Kazakoff-Lane

Email Me

Contact:

Carmen Kazakoff -Lane, Scholarly Communications Librarian
John E. Robbins Library - ( LB 2-19 )
270-18th Street
Brandon, Manitoba
R7A 6A9

VIDEOCONFERENCING:
*Microsoft Meetings: Kazakoff@brandonu.ca
*Zoom Invite to Kazakoff@brandonu.ca

Blog:
https://hsscommons.ca/en/members/2009/blog

Ph: (204) 727-7483

Subjects: Anthropology, Business Administration, Classical and Modern Languages, Drama, Economics, English and Creative Writing, Faculty - Arts, Gender and Women’s Studies, History, Native Studies, Philosophy, Political Science, Religion, Rural Development, Sociology, Visual and Aboriginal Art