Skip to Main Content

Data Services

Data Management Services assists Brandon researchers with the organization, management, and curation of research data to enhance its preservation and access now and into the future

Federated Researcher Data Repository (FRDR)


FRDR  is a comprehensive data service  provided by the Canadian Association of Research Libraries and Compute Canada.  FRDR enables researchers to:

In addition FRDR provides important backup, storage and archiving services. 

Re3Data


Re3data is a global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines. It includes repositories that enable permanent storage of and access to data sets to researchers, funding bodies, publishers, and scholarly institutions. It list repositories by:

  1. Country
  2. Content Type and
  3. Subject  

Re3Data  is also searchable.  

Use it to determine where you can (1)  look for, or (2) contibute relevant data.

Government of Canada Open Data Portal


Using Open Data Portal you can:

  1. Search open data that is relevant to Canadians,
  2.  Learn how to work with datasets, and
  3. See what people have done with open data across the country.

Historical National Topographic System 

The Historical National Topographic System provides open access to digitized historical maps at the 1:50,000 scale.  It covers towns, cities and rural areas in Canada from 1948 to the early 21st century.  These digitized topographic maps have been georeferenced  generating geospatial data that can be combined with other data for the purposes of comparison and analysis. They are useful for researchers to understand changes over time in areas like urban sprawl, shoreline erosion, transportation development, etc.  

Created by the University of Toronto Libraries in partnership  with McGill Libraries this collection provides access to over 6,000 Canadian maps. Once completed,  it will include over 15,800 first edition maps and accompanying datasets.